You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Journey To The Ancients // Canyon Of The Ancients, Aztec Ruins National Monument, USA

in #ocd-resteem5 years ago

Beautiful photos. I really love that bush - it makes me think of two people standing together.
We don't tend to hear so much about Native American women being taken as slaves, at least not here in the UK. I was interested to hear in the podcast Unobscured about the Salem Witch Trials, that the slave Tituba was actually Native American, from Central America, and not African American, as she has generally been portrayed.
My father's ancestry is Afro-Caribbean, from the Bahamas. We don't know which part of Africa our ancestry is from, because family ties were deliberately destroyed with slavery. It may be from several places.
When Columbus arrived in the Americas, at the Bahamas, he encountered the native Lucayan people. Over the next few decades they were totally wiped out by slavery and torture. However there was probably some intermarriage. I'd love to find out more about them, and whether I have Lucayan blood. Of course, it's possible that I might also have some DNA from the Conquistadores!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62498.25
ETH 3177.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79