Cooktown kite surfing and camping trip

in #ocd-resteem6 years ago


We have always heard, cook town is good for kitesurfing. my husband and I went camping in cooktown before X'mas last year. We took out kite equipment of course!'
This place called Archar point which was 20km south of cooktonw on the Mulligan Highway.
As soon as we arrived, we felt in love with this place. clear water, white sand and big wind (steady 18-20knots minimum). It was hard us to put out tent due to the big wind. Wind was even stronger at night!! So, we used our sand pegs and pegged our tent down. We have tried to put our hammock but wind catches and it acted like a kite so we both had to help each other to put up hammock together.
I have achieved new kite tricks while we were there. We would love to go back there again for another epic kite session!!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Very nice! I keep meaning to try this but didn't get round to it yet. How do you think it compares to windsurfing? I tried that a few times but there is so much equipment needed!

My dad used to be a windsurfer. I have never tried but windsurfing equip and everything looks heavy. I really love kitesurfing. You think there are lots of lines but there are only 4 line kite or 5 line kite now a days. so, its not complicated. You should give it ago definitely @cycling-goldfish!

I see kite surfing all the time when surfing. I just wonder is it really hard compared to surfing? I always worried if you can fly out of control really high.

you've got a good control of your kite. its really hard to fly really high. Unless, If you go out kiting with cyclone weather, you might find that its gonna be out of control but usually, it will be fine.
You should try!!

I will thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71