Stop Motion: The Legend of Dink - Puppet Process

in #ocd-resteem6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemers!

Haven't written a stop motion post in a while, so I thought I'd cover the puppet making process for a project of mine called "The Legend of Dink."

LoD Promo 03.jpg

I built Dink at @extracredit while I was between jobs. This was my work space (lots of k&s tubing, aluminum wire, sculpting tools and clay).

IMG_3198.jpg

Here's a shot of Dink's first head sculpt (I ended up doing a second version).

IMG_3211.jpg

Dink's head being prepped to be molded. Two air vents, and a red dividing line for once the mold is poured.

IMG_3214.jpg

Dink's head in the box, ready for the silicone to be poured.

IMG_3258.jpg

Top right corner of this image shows what the final mold looks like once the silicone has cured, and been removed from the box.

IMG_3233.jpg

This was a cast of the second version of the head. The mouths were sculpted seperately, so that's why there is clay on the bottom jaw -- each mouth was sculpted seperately.

IMG_3309.jpg

This is Drayson sculpting the mouths. We ended up using 5 different replacements for all the mouth shapes.

IMG_3320.jpg

Here's another mouth shape being sculpted onto the test head.

IMG_3329.jpg

All the mouths getting ready to be moulded.

IMG_3330.jpg

Here's a shot of my spraybooth workstation. Anything that is chemical or toxic related gets done in a room with adequate ventilation.

IMG_3385.jpg

Here are all the final head pieces, primed and painted with their base coat.

IMG_3395.jpg

Final Head being painted! Everything is airbrushed, and then dry brushed with details.

IMG_3390.jpg

IMG_3421.jpg

Here are all the clothing elements. All of these parts were sewn together, and then placed into the body blocks of the armature, which keep everything held together and are what make the character animatable. It's important to use fabrics that have a high thread count, so the scale looks appropriate relative to the size of the character.

IMG_3425.jpg

IMG_3426.jpg

IMG_3428.jpg

His accessories were made from real leather!

LJFO1297.jpg

Here is the full armature without any fabrication. All limbs are aluminum wire and all the body blocks are hard plastic with plugs fitted so that the limbs will slot in.

IMG_3245.jpg

IMG_3249.jpg

Once all the pieces were fitted together, we did a photoshoot to make sure all the elements photographed well in camera.

LoD_Promo_02.jpg

LoD_Promo.jpg

Next post on Dink will probably focus around the set!

IMG_3954.jpg

Thanks for following along, steemers! I appreciate it. Will keep everyone updated as this project gets closer to completion. :)

Sort:  

Did you make his clothes as well? Or does someone else do that?

My animation partner generally does the clothes. I wish I had that talent but I don’t!

Also, thank you so much for the support! You’re upvotes have been super helpful these past few months. I really appreciate it!

You're welcome! I like to support the good content creators such as yourself.

Stop-motion will never cease to amaze me. The amount of work and time put in the craft it´s just plain amazing. This one in particular looks very funny! Please keep us posted!

Thank you so much! I’ll definitely keep ya updated on the progress.

What a talent! I really like this post @tysonjames specially because Zelda was my favorite Nintendo game!

Thanks man, I really appreciate it!

Your work looks fantastic ~ Can't wait to see more!!!
^w^/~

Thank you so much!

This looks like so much fun! So cool. Upvoted :)

Wow it looks amazing :O can't wait to see the animated version

Crazy puppet work man love it

This is amazing work! I can't wait to see this.

A great miniature stuff. The clothes are lit. You are totally a talented one. Keep on posting a great post like this. 👏

wow man. I've never actually seen what it takes to do a stop motion. I'm so blown away by all the little pieces . This just blew my mind a little. I'll be following you for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73