You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some words about ocdbfund

in #ocd5 years ago

If you don't mind me asking, but what is the purpose to it being capped at 10%ish? Usually with bots, there is that meta game of trying to pick a time when no one else is using it, and last time I did, @ocdb was sitting at 100% VP... so it had capacity to give out more than 10% but didn't.

For me, that raises the question of, do I take that Steem and power it up now and use it right away, or do I wait 7 days and get 10% more.

Obviously 10% is still much better than most other bots or there... I was just surprised that it was capped even when no one else was using it...

Sort:  

Because it's a guaranteed 10% profit and we can't tell when the next bid is going to come in. With other bots you could have several bids come in the same minute and your ROI will easily go to -15%. Also it's not meant to be used for promotion that's why there is a max bid amount which will be lowered over time as more unique bidders appear but it has been raised lately as we got a huge influx of delegations.

Thanks for the reply @acidyo.

Is there a reason you didn't try 30% or 20% ROI? That way it might be more popular (it's currently at 99.57% VP) and people that do want to upvote their Dtube or @exhaust posts that they spent a lot of time on would be more inclined to do so because that 20%/30% would cover the platform costs.

Then once popularity hits and VP starts to struggle, you could start to bring down the ROI until you hit equilibrium. Obviously it's not my bot and you're totally free to manage it however you see fit... it's just a shame to see all that VP just sitting there...

If it's currently set to 10% ROI, it's almost already feasible for @exhaust posts to "kinda-sorta" break even if they use it. @exhaust is currently set to a 20% beneficiary -- half of which stays with @exhaust, and the other half goes into the exercise reward pool.

Essentially, you could get your 10% back -- and would just have to work hard to claim the other 10%. I'll likely start doing this to promote my own exhaust posts, once I get off my ass and start running again. That is -- if I'm on whatever list that @ocdb requires. (which, at a quick glance -- it appears that I am...)

Thanks for the mention, brotha. This is intriguing. Could help promote and power up exhaust.

Anytime!

I think ocdb is more of a 'rewarding good content writers' rather than a promotion tool per se... I'm honestly not too worried about @exhaust getting anything I can throw at it, but it was more an example of stronger adoption for ocdb, and how some platforms require more effort than using Steemit (ie, running real far or producing a video) and therefore maybe should also be useful for ocdb whitelisted users.

But yes... it could definitely help power up exhaust 10% at a time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64092.96
ETH 3145.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88