HAPPY OCTOBER GREETING / OCTOBER POEMsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #october5 years ago (edited)

image.png


When I used to use Facebook daily, I would write a charge to those who experience a deep love for this month of emotion... which is the month of October. I'll save my charge for you fine folk walking through the web through Steemit.

In October, you are never to far to feel the crisp cold chattering on your skin reminding you to bring your fleece where you may go. This month... this blessed month for me is a reminder of every time I bounced along a hay ride and quests I undertook to hunt for the perfect Macintosh apple that was already plucked from a crooked apple tree.

It reminds me of nights where darkness is drawn up like a warm blanket inspiring me to find and make candles.

It reminds me of the velvety smells that rises from a kitchen making apple pie, apple crisp, apple cake, apple cheesecake, cider donuts, mulled cider, pumpkin cheesecake (with gingersnap crust), quick pumpkin bread, and anything that could carry cinnamon, nutmeg, or clove.

Speaking of that life-giving trinity of spices, this month reminds me of making a batch of eggnog and slowly enjoying it by the fire.

Yes, the cold and the night slowly creep in, but this month is still so lovely. In this seasonal cold crescendo (or daylight decrescendo) we can simply toss on a coat or host a bonfire and the warmth of our company is enough to compensate.

In every way this change approaches us, we humans have a clever hacks to infuse our lives with light and warmth.

To all October babies and honorary October babies, may you enjoy and revel in the facets of your favorite month.


image.png

October


I tumble as
a spinning knife
that split the buoyant pumpkin

I bobble back
and your teeth miss
my red glossy skin

I am to you
a white prop
skeleton rider on a bike

I am to you
a pale black robed decider
in a slice of night


Image sources:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62401.16
ETH 3012.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55