You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 791 (Daily Post)

in #off-grid5 years ago

Hello...(:
@jacobpeacock !!!!!
I'm sorry hear your not feeling 100% up to par.
The last few weeks of Winter always seem to go slow.
I love the obligatory photo of a dandelion. I look fwd to them every Spring . They are a very healthy wild edible. One of my favorite.....(:
My Grandmother referred to them as "Spring Tonic. If you have some on your property please consider eating them to help boost your health.
I hope you have enough propane to get you thru. I have been seriously rationing firewood. Extra blankets on at night and letting the stove go out.
I did a little research on the Patreon.
Very interesting platform.
(:

Sort:  

Hi @annephilbrick! Yeah there are a lot of dandelions here and I inadvertently always seem to forget that they are edible and medicinal. I think that I am going to follow your advice and fry some up today and eat them. Yeah the Patreon thing is really neat especially since it can provide a reliable source of income and creates a direct relationship between creators and patrons. A lot of other avenues I have explored just do not measure up as far as what I put in compared to what I actually get out of them. Steemit is a glaring example of that but I do not want to get off on a tangent about it. On the bright side winter is rapidly winding down and spring will be here soon so good luck on the rationing as well and get ready to start stockpiling for next winter. :)

Hello...!!!!! (:
@jacobpeacock
I always pick them to eat fresh and also dry some for tea. The roots are very good as well..!!!! It's TRULY an amazing herb...
Thank You. The nights in my cabin are chilly but I'm warm under the mountain of blankets. I am already planning on firewood...that tasks never ends...!!!!!!! Ran a little short this Winter..but at least I'm through the worst of it...
Take Care my Friend...
;D

(:

I took your advice @annephilbrick and ate some of them yesterday. I only ate the flowers themselves though even though the entire plant is edible. They are definitely tasty! Not quite as tasty as the purple dead nettle but not bad at all! :)

Hello (:
@jacobpeacock
Excellent...!!!
I hope your feeling better..!!
There are alot of good Spring cleansing herbs. Hopefully using them in your diet and more exercise out in the fresh air will help. Our system can get sluggish during the Winter. And hopefully the sun will start to shine alot more...SOON.
:D

I am gradually getting better @annephilbrick and that is the best I can really hope for all things considered. There are a wide variety of plants indeed that are good in a number of ways but I tend to gravitate towards the fungi more often than not. I am also a big fan of Usnea but seldom do I find myself in the position of warranting the usage of such a strong medicine. Like many things I like knowing where it is growing and that I can use it if need be but tend to just let it grow. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91