Day 851 (Daily Post)

in #off-grid5 years ago

Day 851. I am up early yet again and just sort of mulling things over as I listen to the birds sing outside and sip at my cup of espresso. According to the weather it is going to thunderstorm on and off throughout the day and well into the evening so I am probably going to just spend another day working on dreamcatchers and keeping the dogs soothed as best as I possibly can.

I have been thinking a lot about shelters lately and how I have everything for my homestead except a shelter and how that really limits me on my options as I am looking at new places to live. I have been thinking of everything from shipping containers to large tents and weighing the pros and cons of options that are even remotely portable. It is a bit of a dead end thought experiment because I do not really have the funds for procuring any of those options but nonetheless my mind keeps churning over the possibilities.

I also keep thinking about the mini-shelter that I built when I first got here and how well that actually worked but I really do not want to 'live' in something that small again if I can avoid it. The idea itself is sound though and if I had the materials to build a larger one I think that I would because not only is it portable (as single four foot by eight foot panels) but it would also be sealed and well insulated and with some extra materials it could easily be waterproof.

Having all my gear makes things a bit tricky though because I also need adequate storage for it so as appealing as the mini-shelter idea is I would still have to figure out that aspect of things.

As much as I like living in the woods I definitely do not in any way shape or form want to be roughing it with just camping gear and all the challenges that living that 'bare bones' presents. I did plenty of that sort of living when I was younger and am quite content not to repeat it.

My lifestyle as it is now is rather minimal especially compared to what most folks are accustomed to as far as infrastructure and 'comfort' goes but it is my baseline for having a decent quality of life and the notion of not meeting that baseline would be a huge step backwards for me and a step that I am quite unwilling to make unless there is some sort of dire need to take it. Basically anything short of an apocalyptic disaster is not going to get me to budge on holding onto said baseline.

I think that folks would deeply enjoy the entertainment value of me truly roughing it (camping wise) and of course I have plenty of skills in that particular area but really it is just not how I want to live and would also require me to put everything back into storage again and I would like to avoid ever having to do that again if at all possible.

In a few posts I was joking about having a 'homestead in a box' but I guess that it would be more accurate to say that I have a homestead in several boxes along with some things that are too big for boxes. The 'box' that I really need is a giant shipping container because then I could easily (but probably expensively) move everything from place to place as need be and have a shelter to boot.

Anyway all that jazz aside. I am glad that my mind is staying solution oriented and not overly dwelling on the problems that I am currently facing. Mostly I am doing everything that I humanly can to not get overwhelmed by it all and just keep plugging along doing whatever I can each day to help me stay on an even keel and do the stuff that I need to do. So far it is working so I am going to just keep doing it.

I hope that everyone is doing well and has a nice day/night and I will undoubtedly do the same.

This is my fundraiser to help me with moving expenses.

https://www.gofundme.com/jacob-is-moving-again

Please consider becoming a patron on my Patreon page!!! I have five so far which really warms my cookies!
https://www.patreon.com/jacobpeacock

You can also contribute via PayPal: https://www.paypal.me/jacobpeacock

Or via Venmo: https://venmo.com/Jacob-Peacock-8

dreamcatcher-hoops-sm.png

Today's Obligatory Picture: Dreamcatcher Hoops!

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Congratulations @jacobpeacock! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77