You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is all this Off Grid Stuff anyhow? And why the civil war over it?

in #off-grid6 years ago

Yeah it is an easy oversight. I often ask myself when I am trying to spread information: 'What about this am I taking for granted and would a child understand it?' I am in no way perfect at it all but I give it my best.

Sort:  

The last time I use solid wire, I stripped the insulation and made coils for an antennae tuner. :)

I avoid it unless I am doing AC power or just need to create a ground.

I use stranded wire on AC also, easier to pull through conduit. :)

That is a good tip to keep in mind. :) Thanks.

I am lazy, so I like easy pulls. I have no idea how many miles of wire I have pulled into conduit, but it is quite a few, LOL! :D

:) I have not pulled miles of it but I have done a good bit of it over the years. One of my favorite tricks to make it easier is to tie a lubricated condom to a long piece of mason string and suck it through the conduit with a shop vac. Once it is through I tie the wire to the end and start pulling. That trick has made some ridiculously curvy runs so much easier. I have used pieces of latex gloves to do the same. I learned that trick from someone years ago and I still marvel at the simplicity of it.

On the trailer we carried wire on, we had foam plugs, ane a bottle of nitrogen. The foam plugs had a spool of dental floss built in. We'd tie the floss off, stuff it in the conduit, and hit it with the nitrogen.

Then we pull in a pull line, connect the bundle of wires, and fill the conduit. *We always left a pull rope in the conduit, just in case.... :)

Never seen that before. Pretty neat way of doing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84