Yeah. I'm Poor and Angry.

in #oldschool6 years ago

The sun was starting to set on a cold winter evening, and John and I were driving somewhere in his 97 Ford Ranger that had no heater, and was dusty from all of the chalky backroads in Gun Barrel City.

I think I was wearing my big orange Adidas jacket. I remember John wearing his navy Ampeg monkeywrench jacket. Teeth chattered. It's hard to remember that far back, but I think I asked John if he had to work the next day. There had to be more to it than that, but I'll never forget his reply.

"Yeah, I have to. I'm fuckin' poor and angry."

We laughed hard. Soon, every one of our friends were saying it, and I started associating it with the music I was doing at the time.

The thing about Poor and Angry is that it can apply to anyone who feels that way. The internet was a baby back then, and things were (seemed!) a little different. You stayed in your lane, you did everything a certain way. I wanted this to be a kind of "Eff the Establishment, we are going to get our dues regardless - but it's gotta be tough" type of thing, and to be honest, as the internet matured, so was I forced to.

I always felt that everything I did wasn't up to a proper standard, and so I rarely released anything in 15 or so years. If I did release, I never promoted it. Of course I told a few people, and I gave them copies of my stuff, but I never formally documented my progress. That's what this blog is about - documenting stuff, old and new.

My journey with Poor and Angry is just that - a journey. It has always meant a lot to me, and I have grown with it. I hope these pages entertain and inform, and I'll try to be mature enough to post a lot of material.

"Rise Up Through Fury"

Eddie

videotogif_2018.08.31_20.33.28.gif

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected by @edje and rewarded by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with the support of Curie. About IINC: here.

Wow, helluva boost! Thanks for the support, everyone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61035.98
ETH 2886.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67