MY INTRODUCTION, FIRST POST AND THOUGHTS

in #oluwoleolaide7 years ago (edited)

10:50 PM.
Staring at my laptop thinking of what to come up with and how best to introduce myself to the steemit community. I am aware that I do not want to leave a dissatisfying impression, especially in presenting my true self to this new family. Nevertheless, I will make it an obligation to be my best true self. I, Abimbola Kuti will take you on a first class ride into my reality, my heart beats, my love life, my passion, my fears, my christian life, my poetic world, my adventures, my failures and of course my success.
I am hopeful that I get to be heard and be appreciated for my writing. I may not interest you as the likes of Wole Soyinka(Nigerian writer and noble prize in Literature awardee), Chimamanda Adichie(MacArthur Fellowship awardee), F. Scott Fitzgerald(American novelist and short story writer) or Ernest Hemmingway( American novelist and Nobel Prize in Literature awardee) but I sure will represent myself in black and white; a pure reflection of what I feel. I would come up with advice and suggestions on various topics, which is, of, course my perspective and candid opinions.
Here is a bit about me. I am a young lady who is optimistic about life. Although I have had my share of disappointments, it did not stop me from believing and dreaming. I love writing poems, motivational quotes and I am gifted through the grace of God to give words of encouragement in peculiar situations. Do not get me wrong, I am no bishop but I have discovered in time past up until now that I am inspired to write to friends in need of comfort. Something interesting about me? I am a twin. We are unidentical and have spent most of our years together until 2015 when she was denied her student visa to go study in the United States. Living in the United States without her was kind of unusual at first but I guess we both understand now, that life would happen and we would have our family, career and job location as inevitable factors for physical separation. I had to go study for my masters. My experience in a new country without my twin will be shared soon. IMG_5524 (1).JPG
My twin

My Country
Did I mention that I am a full fleshed Nigerian sharing tie with Ondo and Delta. A situation between two lovers who birthed my siblings and I . I must confess that cultural acceptance is the key to strength and unity. Nigeria is a culturally conscious country where respect is considered very important especially when it has to do with elders and the younger generation. It may interest you to know that every tribe has their way of showing respect. This leads me to recount the three tribes that make up Nigeria: the Ibos, Yorubas, and Hausas. They can be differentiated by their attires, mode of greeting and language. One way to get a grasp of each culture is in the wedding ceremonies where diverse cultures are being displayed in costumes, music, language and dance.()
()
Our music and dance are also cultural specific not until the assimilation with the western culture where hip-hop sweeps through our fatherland and wears the mask of Afro-hip hop. But with the mixture of both genres and culture, the vibes from the music can send a moving current to a not too cheerful face. It is lit. Lol. !
Asides these beautiful tales about Nigeria, it could be pretty annoying seeing all the injustice and inequality moving like wildfire across the country. The younger generation is being stripped off their rights by politicization. Now, its citizens migrate to other countries for a better life. I too have my own bitter-sweet experience of being a Nigerian girl child.

My dream
Like Martin Luther King once said, “I have a dream”. Well, I have a dream that one day I would give my book launch and would attribute my success to the steemit community. I have a dream that pages of my articles would transform lives and motivate steemites. I sure have a dream that the steemit community would read this first post of mine, like it and be encouraged to read more.
Most importantly, I owe #oluwoleolaide#a big hug for introducing me to Steemit and making every effort to put me through in every step of the way. You are indeed a catalyst who is about to explode into greatness. Watch out for this goal getter guys. He sure is taking Steemit to the top.
Please like , comment , suggest ,follow and upvote.Thanks.
#introduceyourself#
#poetry#
#newbie#
#Nigeria#
#introduceyourself#

Sort:  

Welcome

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy more posts coming soon.

@abimbolakuti

It's rare and always boring for me to stay long on a very long write up, but trust me going through your Introduction article with the initial mindset of reading just the first paragraph which was changed while i took my time to read all based on your intellectual and dynamic way of constructing your write ups in each paragraph. I really enjoyed it and hoping to read more write ups from you.

Most importantly, i also want to be part of the paragraph in which you endorsed #oluwoleolaide of some great qualities, i was also introduced to steemit by him and all that you've said about him are nothing but the truth.

I am also new here but i'm already seeing the platform as an avenue to learn, teach, impact lives, influence and be influenced, and of course to earn. It's of a great privilege to know about steemit.

Awwh, thanks a lot. I am honored. I hope to read your posts too. Will be looking out for yours. Sincerely speaking, with work, school and all; I have been very lazy to come on Steemit. Will get my groove back on once I am done with the semester. Thank you so much dear.

You are welcome dear, wish you all the best in your studies .

Hello @abimbolakuti

Welcome to the steemit family and that's a great introduction post to begin your journey here.

I’m a 19 year old steemit blogger from Nigeria too, doing quite well on this platform and writing almost daily here for over 3 months.

I have learnt a lot and make connections with many great people ever since joining steemit.

I recently begin going through #introduceyourself tag looking for new steemians with great introduction post and promising steemit career to inspire and help in order to follow the right path (please don’t mind my age, it’s just figures)

As a minnow, focus more on interacting and engaging with other steemians because this is the easiest way to grow. When you have acquired enough steem power, you can then focus on curating to earn curation reward.

One great advice for you: “there’s one thing most new steemians like to do that steemit whales and dolphins hate to see and that’s begging for followers and upvotes” I hope that you might not want to follow this route.

For some reasons this strategy doesn't really work on steemit and it’s the easiest way to piss off most whales and dolphins that could help you.

Steemit is a gift economy and naturally you get back what you gift to others. If you read, upvote and drop a nice/insightful comment on other people's posts, they do same to you without you requesting.

I have a 2 month old article I wrote explaining the best strategy for growth on steemit.

https://steemit.com/universityofgreatness/@bania/ep-6-university-of-greatness-how-to-become-great-on-steemit-without-pissing-off-a-whale-how-to-become-a-whale-without-pissing

I sent 2SBD to @bellyrub to upvote your post,hope that helps a little

@bania, thanks a lot. Trust me, age is just numbers. You have got foresight and more experience in the Steemit community. Thanks a lot for this insight. I was thinking of dropping just one post in a week and focus on building my network through interacting and reading other steemites' post . Thanks for the boost. God bless and stay safe .

Welcome @abimbolakuti

It's my joy anytime i am in the position to help and inspire people, so i'm more fulfilled now and thanks for reading the article i link you to.

If you would love to begin your network journey, join my discord server here https://discord.gg/nsw2VSb to contact me and meet other great steemians from this continent

Great article! Ill resteem both of ur articles for u to help get ur post seen. It will come from @re-steem ... goodluck on steemit.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 0.99 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @bania. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Congratulations @abimbolakuti! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello beautiful, welcome to steemit... you are a great writer and am sure you'll do very well here. First, the above name you commented won't be seen by the owners of the account because you didnt add @ . You might want to edit and add @ to all the names. There's a whatsapp group that might be helpful to you, its organised by @samstickkz ... feel free to chat me up on steemit chat, with this same username for more info. Cheers!

Thanks a lot @evelynbelle for the heads up. I will check out the whatsapp group you have recommended.

Welcome to Steemit. There is a place for everyone here and I am sure you will do just fine.

I hope so. Thanks a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54