Balinese Celebrate The 10th Fullmoon For A Whole Month! #BaliohBali

in #onartbali6 years ago (edited)

While I am hopping around in Vienna, enjoying spring and lots of electronic parties, my Balinese family is celebrating a very special Fullmoon at the Mother Temple Besakih with the view of Mount Agung.

"Good morning from Batur and Besakih", was the message I received today and the reminder of another incredible month long ceremony.

9b62d63b-0eac-49bc-85e1-a0056370a483.jpg

The 10th Fullmoon " Purnama Kedasa" is a good enough reason to go and pray from 9pm until the next day at 10am as I was told.

This special full moon is considered highly significant among Balinese Hindus. Known as 'Purnama Kedasa' in the local tongue, the day coincides with many major temples, celebrating in festive rituals, attended by thousands of devotees. The famous mother temple Pura Besakih, holds a unique ceremony known as 'Betara Turun Kabeh' on this special day, inviting the gods and deified ancestors for their blessings. A 'melasti' or purification pilgrimage usually takes place on the preceding Sunday, with processions carrying heirlooms and temple objects to sanctified water sources. - Source

I have been to many of those impressive, unforgettable happenings.

6cc3b7ef-4916-47b3-8a8f-689255ab9ea0.jpg

Procession of Betara Turun Kabeh ceremony which falls annually on the full moon (tenth month of Balinese calendar) sasih Kedasa at Pura Besakih is an expression of gratitude to the God, Ida Sang Hyang Widhi Wasa for the blessings of safety, health and prosperity that has been transferred to all creatures in the world. Led by 32 priests, thousands of Hindu devotees from Bali and other places in Indonesia will flock to Besakih Temple to observe the ceremony.

I was told that so many more people come out to pray than usual and the traffic total madness, to keep the Volcano calm.

eff62f35-f087-49c1-8597-05814dd6668f.jpg

Looking at those pictures, I feel truly homesick but some of you might know this by now. I will be back there October onwards again.

1a097c5c-061f-43dd-9ab0-c96e29a1a18d.jpg

I am a bit lazy those past days writing articles , so I keep also this one quite short and hope you love such impressions as much as I do.

I am out and about for another electronic fest here in Vienna :) celebrating SPRING!

Follow @onartbali as well because I will write many more stories about this fascinating island and its people and culture. There are many stories to tell after 16 years experience living there.

Yours @mammasitta

U5dsvACCa1QMKCy9WQ2KqVpKoWZcHAM_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

🙌🙌🙌

Amazing... That'd be such a cool thing to take part in! Never been to that part of the world I hope to make it one day. Hope you go back to Bali soon :D!

No life without Bali at least once :)

So I hear! Maybe at the end of this summer :D

That’s a great time to go! Not so hot
If you need help please ask me!
Facebook? Hahha

I like it hot and want to leave here when it starts getting cold! :D

What is facebook? haha!

I heard that crappy company makes us use the messenger service to keep in touch! Geeee! What a Data mess it is....anyways, After last freezing, grey winter I screamed out loud : NOOO moreeee 🙈

It was hailstoning here the other day, this is not supposed to happen on a Spanish island in April!

OhMYGoshhhh no way! 🙈

What good to See a post from you again! Even when it is short, I do appreciate it and it is important to know you are fine!

I’m in the mood again :) but just a little Bit

fantastic blog about a place I unfortunately missed going with my friends - but now it is on my bucket list! Too bad I caught this too late for resteem.

I get why you should be home sick....i'm also loving the view just starring at the pics.

I wish I would have more photos but I left a huge harddrive in Bali

A really beautiful and memorable celebration
You and the moon are the most beautiful thing
I wish you happiness

I love the moon!!!!! :)

Looks sooo fun! Absolutely amazing. I hope it keeps that volcano calm :) I would love to attend a festival like this

Volcano went to sleep again....I’m sure those praying Balinese helped to keep their Gods& Goddesses who love in that mountain very happy. They have been very angry they said

Hiii @mammasitta, Always Love to seee your article. What about your health, hopeful for your better health. nice shots taken about cultural festival. happy to listen about your happiness and enjoyment with family. Best wihes for you.

That’s sweet to see you again and matur suksama for all your wishes 🙌

Hello @mammasitta, nice festivities I can see from these pictures, most times such occasions reminds us of our roots, keep enjoying your spring.

Best wishes from your boy @royaltiesboss-eu

So beautiful photos! Following @onartbali too, from now on...

So toll wenn mir mein Ex immer diese Bilder schickt :)

Interested in experiencing this rare event and its cultural highlights in Bali? Don’t worry it last until April 21 or if you missed out this year’s, Next year’s Betara Turun Kabeh will fall on March 21, 2019 and April 7, 2020.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86