If We Want More Adoption....Focus On This!

in #onboarding5 years ago


"Bitcoin is going to $10,000 and higher!"

You can hear the screams of hype and hoopla everywhere you turn right now online...

Yes, there is lots of positive news, signals and 'experts' saying that the bull run is coming...But I wanted to lower expectations a bit and remind everyone what is REALLY going to matter going forward.

No matter what the price of ANY crypto is...Without ease of use...It won't matter!

We're headed in the right direction though...And I'll explain what I mean from something I 'tried' last night.

I had some extra BCH sitting in my Bitcoin.com wallet. I know, I know...Everyone has something to say about the BTC vs BCH drama. But last night I wanted to see how easy it would be for me to use this 'loose change', bring it over to Coinbase (on my phone) and then do whatever I wanted with it...

(Let's be honest...I just wanted to trade it on @Blocktrades for more STEEM lol)

The process...Was straight forward. Easy to do. And executed within seconds.

Simple.

Easy.

No fuss.

And with Coinbase (if I was in America lol) I could have easily taken that crypto out, deposited as fiat in my bank if I wanted. But even the processes within the app itself, was easy to use and navigate.


(Come on Coinbase....We want STEEM!)

I can't stress how important this is!

The general population....Is intrigued by crypto. They see the potential even if it's confusing for them. They just don't want to go back to school and get a computer science degree to use the stuff.

Apps like Coinbase and Bitcoin.com are examples (no matter how much you may hate their owners and business model) of how more adoption will become a reality.

Ease. Of. Use!

Steem is in a very unique position because...We have something very easy to use AND understand...

Your wallet = Your account username.

This is such a powerful tool and aspect of the blockchain that will help get more people USING Steem.

Apps on Steem like @Partiko will help this move forward as well. But I'm pleading with developers on Steem...Create stuff that everyday people understand.

The easier they can understand something, the more they will USE it. Share it. Talk about it. And more importantly, invest in it.

This is the gold standard for onboarding people into crypto...Make it easy for people to use. And they will use it!


New to STEEM? We want to help you @SteemSavvy

steem training



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://plus1daily.com/if-we-want-more-adoption-focus-on-this/

Sort:  

you are absultly right

glad you think so lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Should be waiting for STEEM at atleast 2$ in this bull run to make worth of its position.

Posted using Partiko Android

ya. it’ll happen. who knows when tho lol we have to be ready to rock at 40 cents so we are well positioned at 4 bucks.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nothing news into this cencept but the crypto space is going into that direction!

Posted using Partiko Android

i think so too. i had a fantastic experience using both bitcoin.com and coinbase. easy. simple.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Personally, Bitcoin.com is not a trustable entity and I never intend to use any services from them.

STEEM is still VERY undervalued coin... There are so many things that are happening lately and if you take a look at other coins from even Top20, you will find less active developers and communities... I know.. We have to compare ourselves with the best... But, we are not so bad at all...

Easy of use is a MUST! I'm very critic about the "opening account on Steemit" procedure... I know that those few $ are not so big money, but that is also just one more obstacle for "easy of use".... And you met that obstacle at the very beginning?!? That's bad...

We have to find other way to prevent SPAM (if it is because of that)!

I don't want to get into discussion about the price, exchanges, etc... those things will come with the time...

Thanks Jon for another provocative post :)

thanks for the comments man. yeah the onboarding is painful. slow. and needs to have better options. even steem ninja which is fantastic is hard to pitch someone in ‘why’ they need to pay to join.

Posted using Partiko iOS

that's what we need besides a good marketing campaign in order to reach people!

there are powers that be that have more money and crypto that we will ever have. waiting for them to step up could be a while....let’s do it ourselves.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Now a days most of people and experts are saying that bull run is coming and I am waiting to see BTC crossing 10k.

Apps on Steem like @Partiko will help this move forward as well. But I'm pleading with developers on Steem...Create stuff that everyday people understand.
Partiko is indeed a easy to use app and helps to access steemit easily.

it’s brilliant. i’m responding to comments right now. while feeding my baby boy in the other arm. multi tasking!!!! lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's fantastic @jongolson
I like your multitasking. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Slow and steady wins the race. Yes, need more fiat to crypto exchanges needed for us Canadian's.

Posted using Partiko Android

man. if coinbase ever opens it up so we can sell. it’s addiction for me on a whole new level lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coinbase has been more flexible lately and seem to be willing to add to the assets if there is enough demand. They just added EOS so it now debunks the fact that they seemed not to have likes DPOS assets. With MIRA costs coming down dramatically, it may be more of an option soon!

Posted using Partiko iOS

hope so. it’s my favorite exchange simple because it’s crazy simple to use. i love that about it

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes ^^^^^^^^ Oh and talk about it in English normal people can understand.

lol i try to talk about that so much. we get it. it’s blockchain. it’s techy. but everyday people need to understand stuff. not just the brilliant people. dummies like me lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

The link is not working my dear. Take care

Posted using Partiko iOS

hey. sorry what link?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think you posted on another platform and when I was looking at your post on @Partiko it showed the link but it was not complete.
I think its an implementation mistake from @partiko. Sorry to have bothered you :D

No bother at all...Appreciate the heads up.

I always try to make sure all my links are working on all the front ends :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75