Art Vlog : 051018: Testing.... Geode on Placemat

in #onelovedtube6 years ago (edited)


Happy Friday!

Still so much to do today and I've been up since 5:30am already working through all my tasks for today.

We have gotten a lot of rain over the last 48 hours (I'm hoping our farmers are getting some of this!) and the outdoor deck area was wet and the box too. Out of all the spots I picked the spot where the panels dripped. Apparently there is no fixing this as this happens with these panels.

I'm telling yall... I swear when we moon I'm getting fancy shutters put up and sorting this mess out lol

If you watched my video yesterday you'll understand what I mean by "the elephant is still in the room" and I'm surprised at my restraint although I feel my workload yesterday helped with that.

This video

Speaking of my workload yesterday... I ended up making my new hybrid pieces which was going great for a bit there until I stuffed it by adding a mound of crystals on top. They're not ruined, it just means I've restricted it's use and it cant be used two ways anymore. That said I could just keep these and use them for an art installation I've been imagining .. (stay tuned...)

After the semi failed hybrids I decided to try and make a geode using a round wooden placemat. Why not right? I failed already, what's another one for the day? And if that means I keep that elephant where it is, then I'm all for it.

I got a huge chunk of it done before I remembered to take a video so you'll see me adding some glitter and mica in the final 8 minutes of the pour and then you'll get to see what it looked like this morning.

Colour wise and all that I don't really care. This is a test piece in may ways. I used all the DecoArt Metallics to see how they'd look; The board to see if it can handle the weight and if the glass will stay on; And the other test was to see if PVA glue as a medium in this case can work like resin.

I'm in this weird head space at the moment where everything I have learnt in the last few years are converging and I feel like I need to combine them all to create something new. It's gonna be an interesting few months ahead I think.

I hope you all have a lovely Friday. I better go and tick off more items from my list today.

Stay awesome Steemit!







▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Hi @bearone!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.589 which ranks you at #1707 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 207 contributions, your post is ranked at #165.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Oh! there I found it! Hahaha so you do show when you do it sometimes. Never mind my another comment. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95