Idea For Mobile DTube App & Self Hosting Files / Questions For The Developers - D00k13 Digest #119

in #onelovedtube6 years ago


What up my Steemians, welcome to the @D00k13 Digest, today I bring you my idea about a DTube mobile app and self hosting aimed at including more users to DTube while simultaneously eliminating queue waits. I am not a developer and I can only imagine the complexity of this project but I see value in having users supporting their own creations while also having the ability to upload directly from their mobile device, thinking about traveling vlogs and the like. This would also give the control of longevity of playability back to the user, it would be up to them how long they wish to host their own files or others for that matter.

I see a solution to the issue through a system of simplicity for the user, I am not very technically inclined and currently don't run a personal IPFS node because its a bit past my capacity and also the amount of time it requires to manually select and pin different users content. If I had the ability to select a post from the mobile application to then have it automatically pinned to my node at home while I am doing my curation then I would use it, click and go fashion.

Mobile App

This would just be a link to your home pc for uploading with also the ability to view and curate content on DTube through the app. Currently on iOS there is no way to upload but on android it has been said to be possible but with a wait of #200th in queue like I have heard reports of things would just be overly complicated.

I think a simple ability to select others works for automatic pinning into your node at home would further eliminate stresses on the IPFS network and also allow for hosting others content for the sake of longevity at the click of a button while on the go.

My interest in the mobile application comes from my desire to leave my laptop at home for my next travel vlog series, it's just another thing I do not need to carry. Furthermore with the application, say I cannot find WIFI for my laptop I would then be able to cut down the quality to 720P and upload via cellular data making it possible to get my video up no matter where I am as long as there is cellular signal.

Basically when you fill everything out for an upload on mobile and click send it would forward the files to your home pc with all the text fields for automatic submission to both the blockchain and main IPFS nodes.

Desktop Applications

This is the backbone to make it all happen, the application would have to be a IPFS node and also a uploader. With having a application that also does the encoding to the different video qualities it would eliminate the wait times from going through the main DTube uploader and should relate to less queue waiting for those that still use it.

I like things to be simple, click and go is how I work. I am not a developer but I do see a potential to solve the hosting crisis by opening the door through a simple application for users like myself to host their own files and files of others at the click of a button. I would attempt to host as many of the #OneLoveDTube community's posts as possible, I do have unlimited bandwidth and crazy fibre optic speeds just not being used.

If we create the application for desktop then making an extension of that application available from mobile must not be too difficult and would circumvent the wait times for someone who is attempting to upload while on the go.

With needing development for multiple OS I do realize this is a large project but hey its my idea and I just hope to spark some inspiration for you guys hopefully resulting in a solution to the ever growing concerns.

Questions To The Developers

  • Is it even possible?
  • Are you interested?

Last But Not Least, THANK YOU!!!

@heimindanger , @nannal, and the rest of the @DTube crew. I know you guys are doing the best you can and I deeply appreciate your continued efforts in creating a platform we can all be proud of. You guys will never get criticism from me rather I aim to bring ideas and hopefully I can spark the inspiration that leeds to all of our success within the platform. I will ask the hard questions at times but do not take it as a slight from me because from those hard questions may arise the solution that's just outside the box we have all been thinking within. I thank all of you involved in this platform as through it I have found my way!

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!?!?

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Follow @d00k13 if you wish to join my journey!

  • If you wish to help, Sponsor Me! Contact Me On Discord @d00k13#5396 .... or

Join us on #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Wallet of a Minnow, Heart of a Whale

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Earn Rewards!

Check Out Partiko Discord Server


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I was literally on the drawing board for this then I saw this video!

My DTube IPFS Discord Bot development is the first step of fixing the centralization of DTube, by allowing users to pin videos to IPFS node easily by sending a simple command with a link to video. The project went well - the bot is invited in multiple servers, and we got Utopian to support this project. What I want to see is more people using the bot, and eventually more communities setting up their own servers, running both IPFS and hosting the bot themselves.

The next step is to make a 3rd party uploader + interface to create an alternative way for users to upload videos to alt IPFS servers.

2:23 that was a great suggestion - since I have the experience of building the IPFS discord bot, this can be easy. It will be basically be the same backend as my IPFS bot (the only thing that will change is that the user will choose a local file to upload instead of a link input), and a separate UI as a frontend instead of Discord. This can be simplified further by scrapping the frontend altogether and running a single terminal command to pin files to local IPFS node, however I understand that many people hate using terminal (like what you mentioned in 6:11), I will need a UI for this. Pinning other author's videos can be made simple in the same app as well, by having a text field to input the author and permlink of the video, choose a resolution and hit a button to download and pin the video.

As for the mobile app that uploads videos to your own node, that can be very tricky to develop as I have to consider both the client side (phone) and server side (IPFS node). Firstly the server has to detect an upload, and once upload is complete, encoding to multiple resolutions will happen, and I will need to find some way to give the user feedback of the encoding progress (sending progress information back to the user). Once all files have been pinned, the server will need to send the resulting IPFS hash back to the user so that they can submit that to the blockchain.

I will probably have to do this in a more centralized way at first by uploading to a remote server (maybe to my IPFS node at Nocix), then I could add a way to connect the app to a self-hosted server so that it uploads to another node (e.g. your own IPFS node on your own computer).

I would say that this is possible but it may take some time to develop, and there will be many challenges ahead as part of development process.

I like those ideas, because they are logical and reasonable, and I think they will help the content creators a lot.

Thanks @fabian98, I do hope so. Been pondering this for awhile and it hit me yesterday while thinking about the queue waiting... I assume by the DTube vote the message was received here is hoping someone will pickup the ball and run with it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahahaha it's right.

Fingers crossed my friend, if there is anyway for me to help it’s by talking about it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

We want to mobile @dtube app otherwise we are not to able using dtube cause i have no pc,please authority of dtube take it seriously and make this quickly, thanks bro @d00k13

Posted using Partiko Android

No problem brother trying my hardest to get the idea of mobile adoption in front of some eyes!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sounds like you have he computer application worked out.

As for the mobile, I was thinking it would work like remote pc to the apps interface only. Remember I am big on no complications so literally having it with no confirmations just auto completion within the app itself would work best for myself and many others I would imagine.

EG: I select video file from mobile, select image file, enter title&body&tags, click send, node and home pc or which ever does the rest. Feed back on completion of upload to the host so that daily activity can continue would be all that’s necessary. From there a notification via mobile that it has been posted would suffice.

Just ideas from a man with little understanding of how these things actually work. 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89