One photo every day: Final day! My trip to Pernaja, the birthplace of Agricola, the father of the written Finnish language (365/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Celebration time!

I finally edited the photos I took today, and I'm going to post them all.

My hunt for the perfect photo took longer than I anticipated, and in the end I didn't get one photo, but a steemboatload of excellent photos!

It all started when I departed from the gym today morning, at 10:45. I was hungry as @omsoc had pushed me to all my limits, and I was so exhausted I almost dropped dead twice or three times at the gym. (Well I can exaggerate a bit can't I, for the story's sake? No?)

After having a quick snack I drove to Orimattila, and started pondering what I should photograph. I had no idea.

So I took a free coffee from a nearby R-kioski as I had a 5th coffee for free card filled with stamps. Then I hopped into the car and started driving aimlessly around the countryside still wondering what to shoot.


Driving the gravel road.

I drove all the time more narrow gravel roads, until I stopped. I found some flowers.


Lupinus polyphyllus


another one


I bet Vera knows what flower this is. She's sleeping, can't ask.


lupines are really pretty


Fireweed (Chamaenerion angustifolium)

Then I drove on until I got to a place called Terriniemi.


Shot from a bridge.


Nice framing!

The above photo demonstrates reverse bokeh. I'll leave it for the class to figure it out.


ponies

When I left after taking the photo of the ponies, my car started rattling and I thought my backpipe had fallen. After a quick inspection I found it wasn't, there was just a pebble in the break shield.


...the road goes on...


...but there is still time to smell the flowers...


...while smelling the flowers I also shot a panorama.

Then I took a detour...


...I noticed these birds, and took a photo...

...but a huge truck pushed me to continue... Straight into a dead-end. I had driven into someone's home yard. I had to wait for the truck to enter the yard before I could leave. :D

The bird photo is excellent though.

Then I drove on, and found myself in Pernaja, some 80 kilometers away from home.


Pernaja's Church

The Pernaja Church is a medieval church built somewhere around 1410 and 1440.


Belfry


nature


more nature


The man himself. The statue is a copy of the original that was lost in the end of the Winter War.

Mikael Agricola was a Lutheran clergyman, the de-facto founder of literary Finnish and a prominent proponent of the Protestant Reformation in Sweden, including Finland, which was a Swedish territory at the time. He is often called the "father of literary Finnish".

I decided to paraphrase Wikipedia for expediency, as the time is already 1:36am and I'm still writing the post.

Ok, guys, I'm exhausted. I came home 7 hours later, and I brought you a whole photo-story instead of one photo. That's why it took so long to edit and write. Sorry about that! But I hope you liked it!

Senare killar o' tjejer! I'll be back!


Public OPED Project Announcement:

One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: Project 365 // Fortieth week in pictures (40/52)]


Previously in 365, One photo every day:

Sort:  

@gamer00,
I am not going to say anything rather than this: I saw professional photography which can make millions of USD or EUR in a single night! This is pretty amazing and I think STEEMIT needs shutterstock type project to protect these photography!

Cheers~

So what is your next challenge now? How about one song every day?

So what is your next
Challenge now? How about one
Song every day?

                 - bankthecrypto


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I wonder... maybe not songs, while I do like singing, I can't compose music and most music is copyrighted so I try to avoid that can of worms. ;)

If you want to go down the challenge path, I suggest you try something shorter than a threesixtyfive. If I were you, I'd rest.

These photos are very, very nice! I like each of them!
They are a summation of various ways of taking photos!! Those purple flowers are beautiful, the roads with green pines and the peaceful stream are very welcoming!
Good shot with those birds! You are very quick to capture those birdies!

The old church was just strong and powerful!!
The man did a lot of good for the Finnish people!!

Hope you catch up with your sleep!
Cheers.

Blow the trumpets. Gamer has completed his challenge. Nice story and photo's. You know you only had to take one and didn't need all of them. Glad you did though. Thanks for doing the challenge and well done.

In case you're wondering the medieval church Jaro photographed, Pyhän Mikaelin kirkko (Holy Michael's Church) is here.

80 km from home. Talk about hunting for the photo to finish off the challenge. Most people would have found something closer to home or taken a photo at the gym. Not Gamer he has to go hunting for that special shot.

You made it! Congratulations! I know a lot of people have done 30 day challenges, but you've done it for three hundred sixty five days. That's an accomplishment. What are you going to do now? :D

Wow, maybe a short break. :D

Can't blame you there. It takes effort to remember to post every day and if you're getting out there to take pictures and then edit them, it's a lot of work. You made it though and you deserve a rest... Although you've been so good about getting the posts out, you've got the habit down, so maybe it will be easy to just continue one. It's a great time to be posting with the prices down. :)

you captured awesome photos .these phots tell us I.e this world is so beautiful & photos represent the natural beauty of the world

A big applause from behind this desk! You have finished your threesixtyfive and in what way! I'm going to have to do something similar and shoot (not shoot up) some churches this summer!

Lol.

The Porvoo Cathedral a few dozen kilometers west of Pernaja was destroyed in an arson attack in 2006. It was rebuilt because it is considered a national treasure on par with the Cathedral of Turku.

Terrible when idiots destroy the history like that. Glad they rebuilt it but it is not the same though.

At first congregations for your challenge ! You took all the photographs that really, really awesome and bright and so clear especially pink,purple and the flower that know Vera that's amazing. How could you take those photographs in a short time that I'm strange, so you are the most talented photographer in my eyes. Thanks to share and best wishes for you.

First very congrats for your successful project .
This is your final day on one photo everyday project . You sharing beautiful pics . It was such a awesome project .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.14
ETH 2915.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55