One (or two) photo every day: Lahti skyline, both 35mm & 135mm shots (216/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Ha!

It took me a while, but I've finally edited the Yesterday's photos! :) As it's already 3:30 in the morning as I'm writing this.

35 mm
Part of our city from afar.

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Super Carenar MC 1:2.8 ƒ=35
Aperture: ƒ/11
Exposure: 15 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200

Edit: Both these photos were shot from the Myllysaari bridge in Jalkaranta.

You can see Sibelius Hall, the well lit building on the left, the water reservoir on Blackstone Hill (Mustakallionmäki), and on the right you may see some the expensive Jalkaranta condos.

When I changed the lens from 35 mm to the 135 mm, I decided to compose the shot a little bit to the left, and concentrate on the Sibelius Hall and its surroundings:

135 mm
Sibelius Hall, restaurant boats and smoke coming from somewhere. Is there a fire?

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Super Carenar MC 1:2.8 ƒ=135
Aperture: ƒ/11
Exposure: 15 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200

I found it interesting, that a little bit to the right from the Sibelius Hall there seems to be a pillar of smoke. I noticed it when checking the 35 mm photo chimping and pixel peeping it from the camera screen. The same smoke is even more visible in the 135 mm photo, although I still can't see its source. I wonder if there was a fire somewhere.

Anyway, it was a fun night. Although I am going to post the next one right after this one. I sort of combined this night's trip and took two days worth of daily shots. ;)

Okay, I'll finish here, have a good night (or what's left of it) and shoot with care!

Ciao!



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: Seven Day Black and White Challenge photo #7]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 

Cataloguing the plants Part #4, Crassula (209/365)
Seven Day Black And White Challenge Photo #1 (210/365)
Cataloguing the plants Part #5, Nepenthes (211/365)
Leaning to the light (212/365)
Sarvikuono (213/365)
Pinetree (214/365)
Pointing (215/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

Your title looks funy. One or two pictures. Lol

I like the pictures, shinny, perfect and rightly shot.

It looks beautiful, I imagine you took them from the place where you had the camera in the photo of the 7th day of the Black and White Challenge

Same here. Had to draw till 3:30 in the morning. Tried to learn 1-point perspective and basics of shadows. Will probably post in a couple of days about it (FINALLY).
Hey, the shots turned out not bad :d

Not bad at all. :)

I'm interested to see what you came up with. You should get some rest too, right? :)

Just no time to rest :(

Looks like the beach but im guessing its a lake?

I forgot to write where I was taking these photos. Made an edit with a map marker to amend that. :) The lake in question is Vesijärvi. It's about 111km2 wide lake right in the side of our town Lahti.

My camera was pointed almost directly toward east.

Its an awesome pict, Wow that is a big lake. Reminds me of looking across a bay on the beach.
:D

You are up really late. Time to get some rest. Use your weekends!

Really cool twilight photography, the sky is dimly lit and soft is truly a treasure, maybe the smoke is a bakery oven and very beautiful waves in the water. thanks for the explanation @gamer00 until next time.

Hopefully you went to bed shortly after that! Nice edits too.

I had to upload one more photo. But I did get to bed at 5 in the morning. ;)

@gamer00,
It's a pretty amazing photography and I think BW photography and this is correlated :D

Cheers~

Now that your cough has gone, you are carried away with hunting for locations for new photos in the cold of the night!
These are very eye catching photos with unique colour tone!
Would love to be in a concert at Sibelius Hall!
But you should be catching up with your sleep too!
I am also trying to catch up with my sleep.

Cheers.

Thank you very much!

I'm trying to not get sick again, so I slept till 14:00. :D

Glad to hear that you are sleeping a LoT more than before! 😇

I knew that pictures you will take will be lovely because this once are lovely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66856.70
ETH 3114.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75