#290/365, Rushing to Verasu for afternoon tea, รีบเร่งไปวีรสุเพื่อดื่มนํ้าชาตอนบ่าย, the OPED project.

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

I was very surprised by the traffic jam on a Saturday afternoon. It took a lot of presence of mind to be cool and not get pressurised by the stationary traffic.

image

I took the usual route along Wireless road with lots of old trees on both sides of the road. The rain started to drizzle after I gave the monthly bunch of bananas to the staff at the gas station. Luckily I had my tank filled up, getting stuck in traffic jam could be very stressful with petrol tank almost emptied. So, I knew I was ready for an hour of stationary traffic. But this afternoon I had an appointment for tea with an old friend at Verasu. The reason for choosing Verasu was two folds. There’s a mid-year sale with up to 60% price reduction and the quality of food & drink there is very good at a reasonable price.

image

image

The traffic jam gave me an opportunity to test out my iPhone in a low light condition without using flash. I had to lower the glass window to take some shots of the nearby skyscrapers. People in other cars looked at me suspiciously as there were several embassies on thus road with numerous CCTVs pointing in all directions. I just hoped that no snipers would be shooting me for taking cityscape photos in high security area!

image

Many years ago, it must have been over twenty years ago, a small truck laden with explosives was discovered by accident very near a Western embassy on this road. The driver was a foreign national who were not familiar with peculiar Bangkok traffic. The driver happened to have a car accident while trying to make a U-turn along this road. He was frightened of the unexpected incident so he just ran away from his vehicle. The police arrived at the scene wondering where the driver had gone. After looking at the back of the van, the whole area was cordoned off and a potential attack was unmasked. Had the driver been successful in igniting his payload, unimaginable tragedy would have taken place with many cars engulfed in explosion and in flame. It would have resulted in a great number of casualty and nearby building would be badly damaged. The payload was almost a ton inside the small truck.

image

I managed to arrive on time for my tea appointment at Verasu. I should congratulate myself on my skill at go-cart which have made my driving so much like a Formula One racing stunt. Even taxi drivers were scarced by my daring driving. I always send a message that I am a crazy driver so others had better let the crazy car have the way. So far, so good! Well, I had been quietly praying for the traffic to move so I should deserve the right of way! I think most Thai drivers are very kind people who let bygones be bygones, lucky me indeed!

image

My friend arrived very late because of the traffic jam so I had to preorder our cakes as they got sold out very quickly. We had high seats by the glass window overlooking the American ambassador’s residence in Wireless road. There were more than ten CCTVs along the front of the main gate. We had a general chat about life and I did my all my shopping for my kitchen gadgets. I have a plan to start cooking proper vegetarian food! I had envisaged that I might have to cook for many people in the future once I got settled down in the country house. At least I know my friend would be visiting me this year! However, I would have lots of instant noodles as backup, just in case.

image

วันเสาร์เป็นวันที่ฝนตกพรำๆ และรถติดอย่างไม่คาดคิด เราต้องไปพบเพื่อนตามนัดเพื่อทานนํ้าชาตอนบ่าย ทีวีรสุถนนวิทยุ โชคดีที่เราได้ไปเติมนํ้ามันเต็มถังที่ปั๊ม. และเอากล้วยนํ้าว้าไปให้พนักงานที่นั่นก่อน. พอมาเจอรถติดที่ถนนวิทยุ เราก็มีความพร้อมไม่ว่ารถจะติดนานสักชั่วโมงก็ตาม แต่ความที่เราต้องพยายามไม่ผิดนัด เราก็เลยมีความกดดันมาก เราจึงต้องพยายามตั้งสติเพื่อขับรถอย่างระวัง และไม่เครียด เราก็แอบสวดมนต์เงียบๆด้วย

image

ตินรถติดไม่ขยับ เราก็เลยถ่ายภาพรถติดที่ถนนวิทยุ ซึ่งเป็นถนนที่มีต้นไม้ใหญ่ที่มีอายุหลายสิบปีสองข้างทาง เราต้องเปิดหน้าต่างเพื่อถ่ายภาพ ทำให้คนในรถบางคันสงสัยว่ามีอะไรดี เราอยากทดสอบไอโฟนว่าจะสามารถถ่ายภาพในแสงน้อย โดยไม่ใช้แฟลชได้ไหม. อต่สิ่งที่ลืมไปคือ แถวนี้มีกล้องวงจรปิดเต็มไปหมด เพราะถนนนี้มีสถานฑูตสำคัญๆหลายแห่ง เช่นสถานฑูตอเมริกัน. เราหวังว่าคงไม่มีนักแม่นปืนบนหลังคาสถานฑูตส่องปืนมาทางเราก็แล้วกัน เราเคยอ่านเจอข่าวสมัยก่อน ที่เขาสามารถจับรถบรรทุกขนวัตถุที่ระเบิดได้โดยบังเอิญ คนที่ขับรถไม่ชินทางที่ถนนวิทยุจึงเกิดชน กับรถคันอื่นขณะกำลังทำยูเทอน คนขับตกใจจึงวิ่งหนีไปก่อน เมื่อตำรวจมาถึงและสำรวจรถคันนี้ ก็กลายเป็นข่าว มีการปิดถนนและย้ายผู้คนออกจากอาคารต่างๆในถนนวิทยุ ถ้าวัตถุระเบิดถูกจุดติดขึ้นมา คงเกิดหายนะสำหรับรถยนต์ที่ติดในถนน อาคารต่างๆก็คงไดัรับความเสียหายมากทีเดียว

image

เราไปถึงวีรสุตามเวลานัด แต่เพื่อนเรามาสายมากเพราะรถติด เราจึงต้องสั่งขนมไว้ล่วงหน้า เพราะทุกอย่างขายหมดเร็วมาก เรามาที่นี่เพราะกำลังมีลดราคาประจำปี. และขนมเค็ก ชากาแฟทีนี่มีคุณภาพสูงแต่มีราคาสมเหตุผล เราคุยเรื่องชีวิตทั่วไป และเราได้ช็อปของที่ใช้ในครัว เพราะเรากำลังจะต้องหัดทำอาหารเพื่อตนเอง และสำหรับต้อนรับเพื่อนที่จะมาเยี่ยมเราที่ต่างจังหวัดในอนาคต แต่เราก็คงต้องตุนมาม่าไว้ด้วย เผื่อเพื่อนกินอาหารที่เราเนรมิตคิดค้นไม่ได้.

image

Wishing you a good weekend.

Cheers.

Sort:  

Wowww! You're still doing one photo every day. I remember I asked you since I first got started on Steemit and you have been doing it since then. Impressive sud sud ka and Congratulations, your post had been chosen by curators of eSteem Encouragement program. Feel free to join and reach us via Discord channel if you have any questions or would like to contribute.


eSteem Line
Thank you for using eSteem

Hi! Glad to hear from you! Are you now in Thailand?
Last time you were in America! You must have a magic carpet, you seem to be flying all the time! Are you with Harry Potters' team?!

Thank you very much for your encouragement.
Cheers.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-15T01:56:12
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 1018.05/200.00
Total Photos: 137
Total comments: 169
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

One of the thing learnt from a trip to Indonesia is always visit toilet before start of ride on the road :-)

Hahaha! You really know how to travel in big cities in Thailand!! So, you’ll be very comfortable when you come to do sightseeing in Bangkok!!

Let me know when you are here, if I am in town I’ll take you on a boat trip to Nonthaburi for lunch! Best to let me know in advance of your trip.

Cheers.

Ah... thanks, I'll have to remember. :-)

Great post & content , thank for sharing ! Happy weekend

Please don’t ‘cut and paste’ or copy the same comment for all the posts! Your approach to Steemit is wrong and will not get you anywhere! It can annoy many people but you may not know it!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01