STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 88 - LIES (ORIGINAL SONG BY STEPHEN MARTIN AND JESSICA MANIS)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)



Hello,
This week I am entering a song called 'Lies'. I wrote it with my sister–Jessica Manis–about 20 years ago. I entered it several weeks back, but I did it incorrectly. I didn't play it on an instrument, so I figured I'd enter it correctly this week. I say week 87, but that was just a brain fart. Here's my week 87. Thanks for listening. 😎

Lyrics

I'm tired of waiting, anticipating the lies I tell myself
Truths that are possibly never going to be anything but the lies I tell myself*

I think I bit off more than I can chew this time
Never going to be, anything but the lies I tell, oh the lies I tell myself

I tell, I tell, I tell a lie...

I started seeing so now I'm believing the lies I tell myself
It always seems that the worst mistakes keep leading me to the lies I tell myself

Think I live a life consumed of lies
Never going to be free of all the lies I tell, oh the lies I tell myself.

I tell, I tell, I tell a lie...

And it may just take a little longer
But this feeling is growing ever stronger
I've been on the outside for so long now
It seems enough to make it somehow
And even if my world turns backwards
I've got enough soul to take it up words
And if you hear me screaming in the night
Know that everything is all right
'Cause I

I tell, I tell, I tell a lie...
I tell lies

Thanks for orchestrating this contest @luzcypher & @pfunk.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79