STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 89 - HABIT (ORIGINAL SONG BY STEPHEN MARTIN)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)



This week I turned a poem of mine into a song. The poem and song are both called Habit. It's often difficult to turn poems into songs because the freedom of poetry doesn't translate to the strict meter of a lyric. This poem worked because the song itself is very obscure in both form and message. 😎

Lyrics

Verse 1
I burn the image in my mind
Until my conscious will is blind
Forgetting why desire is king
I purge myself of everything.

Chorus
Into the flame I dive head first
Exhume the pain to quench my thirst
Untie the knots, expel the curse
Relive the moments at their worst.

Verse 2
I build the bridge to sober thought
Through this hazy maze of pot
I climb the mountain to the top
Never quite knowing when to stop.

Chorus
Into the flame I dive head first
Exhume the pain to quench my thirst
Untie the knots, expel the curse
Relive the moments at their worst.

Breakdown
An easy way to ease my mind
In doing so I hang a sign
Around my neck and down my spine
Sensations quell this heart of mine.

Outro
I have a habit....


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thank you. 😎

acousticsteveo u remember me?
ahaha my vote and reesteem ggogo wonderfull you music
madara.jpg

Sounds good man.

Cool song, bro... Nice!

Thank you. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98