Steemit Openmic Week 76 Original Song "The Ballad of an Immigrant"

in #openmic6 years ago

I searched for days and days
for a place where I could rest
in the dry and lonely badlands
of this country in the west.
I felt so goddamn hungry,
my ribs poked through my sides
when there came along a stranger
who offered me a ride.
The man said he had some land
just a few miles down the road
and a place for me to crash
if it'd help me ease my load.
So I told him I was grateful
and I hopped up in his truck
thinking this might be the end
of my streak of rotten luck.

But as we drove on down the street,
our eyes they didn't meet,
til I spoke some words that struck him
as uncommon and offbeat.
I told him that I came
from a place that's far away,
where the days are dark as night
and the nights are light as day;
then he turned his head and looked
with a face of cold dismay
and kicked me out onto the street
and he drove off on his way

So if you ever go and roam
in a foreign unknown land
regard this stories lesson
and be sure that you understand;
you need to watch the words you say
and who you say them to
or someone out there someday
will make sure that you do.

Sort:  

Man I really dig this song. These lyrics are kickass and when you whistle it's outright dreamy. Would it be possible to get the chords to it?
♥-serena

@paintingangels Totally yeah! I'm flattered that you would ask. Its just Am, Dm, E and G for the whole song. I can put the chords above the lyrics if you need too. Just let me know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56