Steemit Open Mic Week 89 - Original Song - Shabba

in #openmic6 years ago

This one's a special one for me. I wrote it in May 2017 after getting shocking news that my good friend Jon had died suddenly of a heart attack at the age of 43. Jon and I grew up in the same town, though he was a few years younger, so I didn't know him from school - our bond was more important than one forged in the playground; ours was forged at the ramp! He was one of Prestwick's best skaters. I skated too, but I was more a BMX guy. I had huge respect for Jon, but it wasn't until he popped into my post office out of the blue around 2014 that our friendship grew beyond mutual respect.

He got a job in hospitality in my area and began playing gigs on the same circuit I was on. It was on his way home after a gig in a local hotel that he took his heart attack and died. There's nothing quite so difficult to deal with as sudden death.

I was inspired to write this song in his honour. He loved life and was one of the people I most admired, for his easy-going, no-BS lifestyle. I miss him.

This is for Jonnie Scotland.

Sort:  

Thank you for putting your heart and emotions out there for others to listen and find some comfort in the beauty of your music! Really touching.

Very cool, bro. Those songs that we write when a friend you care about passes, takes you to a hard place. But you get to feel the music like no one else can.

You're absolutely right. It felt cleansing. Jon's brother heard the song and got in touch to ask if he could play it at the funeral service. It was a great honour, if a little surreal to hear my own recording of my song during the service.

To me, that’s why God gave people like us this ability to craft words into feelings. It’s a great power, with great responsibility, to borrow a phrase.

A very nice tribute to the passing of your friend and his memory.

Thank you!

I am sorry for the loss of your friend... and what a lovely tribute. His memory lives on in your song. All the best with your entry, Cams.

Thank you Pris. It's nice to be able to sing that song and think of him. I play it often during local gigs when I know friends of Jon's are in the audience.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much for considering my song. I'm touched that you thought it worthy of curation.

Hi camuel,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

That's awesome, truly. Thank you.

beatifull music camuel my vote and reesteem <3 i follow you
madara.jpg

What a touching composition.. well done @camuel

Thank you for your kind words.

Love it! Keep it up!

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94