Steemit Open Mic Week 86 - Heart Like A Wheel (Original)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Heart Like A Wheel

This is my second entry and first original tune.

This was the first song I ever wrote.

A little how it came to be...
I had come to a figurative end of the road. I had been wiped out in my business, the market tumbled and I was going through a divorce and custody battle. I had lost everything mentally, emotionally and materially.
I jumped in the car with no direction in mind and a .45 under my seat. I had my thoughts on my demise by my own hand.

That day on the road turned into 10 days. I slept in my car and just kept going until I eventually came back. But I never really came back.


From that point I started again, but in a completely new skin that I would need to grow into.

Thank you @luzcypher for the kind words of encouragement from my first post. @pfunk @ausbitbank and everybody else who contributes time to keep this open mic rolling... And of course thank you all of the great content creators. Its been really cool hearing some really great writing.
Inspired.

Here's how the recorded track turned out:
https://open.spotify.com/track/5phf697Yn77uEqeYl1X9vU

Sort:  

Really lovely country sound. I love the cowboy attire.

Thank you @roonyi ... That's my attire au naturale. I'm glad that you dig..

Love your sound @carljohn Great performance man!

Thank you brother... I really appreciate that. I saw that you're a musician and father as well. That's awesome!

Sounds like a tough time when you wrote this some. I think it takes quite some courage to share such a personal song with the world. I hope your life has turned around in the meantime though.

Well done, adore the 'rough' voice. Definitely looking forward to more of this - following and upvoted!

Thank you... It was definitely a tough time. I guess in order to be reborn into something else you have to go through the birthing canal...and that just isn't pretty.
Life has certainly shifted since that point.
Thank you for the follow and the upvote...I appreciate both. (Glad you dig my voice)

I guess in order to be reborn into something else you have to go through the birthing canal...and that just isn't pretty.

I guess that's very true. Some say that the only way up is to hit rock bottom first. I am glad things are going well now through.

You're very welcome. Looking forward to more!

I got hooked from the first note. I just resteemed this.

Wow. Thank you so much. That is truly great to hear.

Congratulations @carljohn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Awesome Thank you...

Thank Ya for Hosting and Having Me...

Comment removed

Nice one, Carl!

Thank you... I'm glad you dug it..

Excelente interpretación, muy buena canción. Te invito a pasar por mi Steemit y disfrutar de mi #OpenMic y si te gusta estaría muy agradecida con tu #Upvote

Saludos desde Venezuela, Nachy A.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66