Steemit Open Mic Week 91 - The Gambler (cover)

in #openmic6 years ago

Having A Little Fun With A Country Classic

This weeks open mic found me at a friends cabin in the woods doing some writing and I decided to have a sing along with myself. I hope that you'll all join me round the campfire...

The Gambler is such a great song lyrically. A plainly poetic story that gives such a great life lesson. Whenever I start getting too heady while writing a new song or baffling myself with lyrical BS, I like to listen to songs like this to reel me back in to whats important. That's all you really need is 3 chords and the truth.

As always, thank you @pfunk @luzcypher @soundlegion @krystle @meno @verbald for all you do for this contest. Thank you @passion-ground for always giving such great input on my posts.

Please follow me for upcoming posts.
For more music please check out my album and audiobook
IMG_1729.JPG

https://open.spotify.com/artist/2PejspkdGQOLw0atLm44bo
https://www.instagram.com/cj_carljohn/?hl=en

Sort:  

"Three chords and the Truth" I love that! Cool location, and great rendition, man!

Hey brother, I'm doing a special collaborative production in the near future and wondered if you might be interested in adding some vocal or blues guitar tracks to the mix. Not sure if the two song cover mash-up is your cup of tea, but I thought I'd ask you nonetheless. Here's the link: https://steemit.com/openmic/@passion-ground/open-auditions-for-a-very-special-passion-ground-production

Thank you for thinking of me! I dont know if a mash up is my cup of tea either, but I've been surprised at cup of teas in my life... some have quenched my thirst and some have down right shifted my consciousness. That being said, I'm down to give it a go. I took a look at the link and certainly see my vocal and/or picking lending better to track 2.. .(and sorry about your hand brother) So whats the next steps my friend?

So cool of you, Carl! Thanks, man! My finger is still alive! Not like it used to be, but "alive" nonetheless, and for that - I am grateful! We've still got plenty of time - I've just finished my scratch tracks (I think) - and once I get a general consensus that it's "good to go" - I'll pass it along to you for your artistic pleasures! Let's hook up on discord in the next little bit - It should be easier to swing the bat from there. Thanks, Carl!

Oh I love this!! One of my favorite songs.. I'm a country girl : ) I grew up listening to this song on vinyl .. never gets old. Beautifully done.. cheers!!
♥-Serena

Thank you Serena! I love the depth and simplicity of this song. I grew up listening to this song the same way as you! (My 45 had a crack in it and made that thunk sound on every rotation)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61135.20
ETH 2928.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66