Steemit Open Mic Week 70 - Gold (Original Song) by @chimtivers96steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago

This is a classic song that people enjoy when I play it live, so as a result I've played it way too much. A big thanks again for @luzcypher and @pfunk for putting on the open mic. Last week was massive for me and it was a great way to get started on Steemit.



Lyrics:

You glued my head to my neck
To stop the wind from shaking it
Everything is a beautiful mess
But you won't see me fixing it

I was fine taking my time
I was fine
Down in my chest you left me a piece
Of the loneliest gold I've ever seen
When you talk to me I don't care what it's for
Whatever you do don't mention the war

You made me feel alright
September came and blew my mind
There's nothing that I don't regret
In the year passing by, I want to forget

I was fine taking my time
I was fine
Down in my chest you left me a piece
Of the loneliest gold I've ever seen
When you talk to me I don't care what it's for
Whatever you do don't mention the war

big ass bridge

I was fine taking my time
I was fine
Down in my chest you left me a piece
Of the loneliest gold I've ever seen
When you talk to me I don't care what it's for
Whatever you do don't mention the war

Down in my chest you left me a piece
Of the loneliest gold I've ever seen
When you talk to me I don't care what it's for
Whatever you do don't mention the war

(watch to the end for a good boye cameo)

Sort:  

Like an Ozzy Ed sheeran hahaha, nice one brew, sounds good.

Why thanks maine :))

Nearly got a bit racist at the end there haha, Ya black ... huh

Yea whoops, I almost forgot my dog wasn't black haha, he just wears racist makeup :)

Great song and great looking dog ;9)

He's a dang beautiful doģ

Beautiful rendition as we had last week. Keeo on it bro.

Thanks for the support Dorth! :))

Very nice. I always have a bad time trying to write something. Bunch or instrumentals with me "nananana" the lyrics. Haha.
Keep up the good work.

That's a perfectly valid way to write songs! I like to find hooks or good lines and write songs around them :) I just looked up your profile, your voice is out of this world :)

Haha its silly all around. When you play classical music all your life, when you make a living from it, you become accustomed to reproducing the ideas made by someone else.
Its hard to create your own when the pinnacle has been already achieved. (At least thats what they teach you. :) )

Anyways, thank you for the nice comment. :)

Everyone has different experiences :) I find it's always best to try and surpass your own efforts than surpass everyone else's. You may find there's something you're the best at that other people aren't as good at. Just like there will always be people who do specific things better than you. I guess what I'm trying to say is, even though the pinnacle has been achieved, there are more pinnacles... :)

Very very beautiful. Had to resteem this.

Thank you very much! Had to follow you, I like your page :)

Sounds really good.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Pretty awesome! Just like last time! You rule!

Thanks Kat :) Nice Killers cover too, love that band!

Awesome strumming and singing. I really enjoyed this especially the line "whatever you do, dont mention war"

Thanks! (It's a sneaky little John Cleese reference)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98