Steemit Open Mic Week 67 - Original Song - Right Place, Right Time

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Here's my entry for this week's #OpenMic competition.


It's an original song I wrote for Week 7 of the Songwriter's Challenge. The topic this week was the title of my song, Right Place, Right Time. This is the first time in the course of the challenge that I have entered the same song in #openmic as well, but many of the others are doing it, so here I am. I really just want to get more views on this one; I like what came out.


The lovely lady by my side is my wife, @carrieallen. Her harmonies added a great deal to the finished product. So without further ado, Right Place, Right Time.



Lyrics

Looking ‘round,
All the time,
Crooked sound,
Fallen rhyme,
Played the game,
Made the same
Mistakes as you.
Hope to find,
What I need,
Grope and grind,
Pick and plead,
Lord, I’m stuck,
Pour down luck,
Take me there.

To that place where I can have it all with plenty left to spare,
Friends I don’t see often as I’d like will all be there,
I’ll do the things that I forgot to do that needed done,
Loving that I’m living just for fun…

In the right place,
It’s a good place,
And once upon a time, When I was in my prime, I was there,
Though I might place, In the big race,
All I hope to find, to ease my troubled mind,
Is a corner of the floor in the right place.

Time to waste,
Never late,
Crimes of haste,
Heaven waits…
Time goes by,
Time to try,
Once again.
Moment’s gone,
Just as soon,
Show went on,
Trust the moon,
Waste away,
Another day,
Here I go…

If timing is the only thing that matters let me in,
Let me be the one that gets there first,
To miss the boat, the wagon or the train would be a sin,
To be the last to know is just the worst…

But in the right time,
It’s the good time,
Happiness today, Can quickly fade away, So live it up,
It’s the right time, You can’t fight time,
Right now you are blessed, So get it off your chest
And do your best And may the rest
Of yours be always the right time.


Thanks to everyone who makes #openmic awesome. The growth is astounding! I can't wait to see how far this goes!



Sort:  

Loved this, Chris! You are quite blessed to have been accompanied by such an outstanding partner! Excellent dual entry, my friend!

Thanks, @passion-ground. It's true, she's quite amazing. And a great sport, jumping in after only knowing the song for a couple hours. Definitely blessed, and quite grateful.

Out of this world @chrisroberts ! Beyond impressed! Great job! Two thumbs up! I'm following and upvoting my Friend! Positive Energy! Blessed 2018! :)

Thanks a lot, that's very kind of you! I'll follow you as well; you seem like a great positive Steemian. :)

That was awesome! I loved the bluegrass feel!

Thanks a lot, this was fun to record :)

Wow different pitches. I love your singing style.

Thanks for listening; I'm glad you enjoyed it.

good music song

Thank you very much!

Wow very cool songs.

I appreciate it :)

I'm so glad I watched this, great harmony, great song & great performance

Thanks! Glad you stopped by! :)

Oh man, that was so good! I really enjoyed watching the video as well as the song, the interaction was fun to watch and the harmonies really made the song that much better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66934.09
ETH 3099.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74