Steemit Open Mic Week # 85 - Boondocks by Big Little Town (Ukulele Cover)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)


Hi Open Mic'ers!

I hope you all had a lovely week. @kevinli recently made the comment that I have a bit of a country sound to my voice, and even though I rarely cover country songs... I really do love singing them! Thanks for the inspiration to post more country covers Kevin!

There are so many beautiful and soulful country songs that not only have fun melodies, but also have strong emotional messages.

Boondocks is one of those songs that I've always found really catchy and addictive! I personally moved around a lot growing up, and so I don't really have these strong roots that the songs sings about - but it's fun to pretend. I went to a high school where everyone had lived in that small town their entire lives, and most of the teachers there had literally taught my classmates parents.

This small town, country vibe meant that I listened to a lot of country music in high school and developed an appreciation for it.

I hope you guys enjoy my cover of "Boondocks" by Big Little Town!

Here are the lyrics...


I feel no shame
I'm proud of where I came from
I was born and raised in the boondocks
One thing I know
No matter where I go
I keep my heart and soul in the boondocks
And I can feel
That muddy water running through my veins
And I can hear that lullaby of a midnight train
It sings to me and it sounds familiar
I feel no shame
I'm proud of where I came from
I was born and raised in the boondocks
One thing I know
No matter where I go
I keep my heart and soul in the boondocks
And I can taste
That honeysuckle and it's still so sweet
When it grows wild
On the banks down at old camp creek
Yeah, and it calls to me like a warm wind blowing
I feel no shame
I'm proud of where I came from
I was born and raised in the boondocks
One thing I know
No matter where I go
I keep my heart and soul in the boondocks
It's where I learned about living
It's where I learned about love
It's where I learned about working hard
And having a little was just enough
It's where I learned about Jesus
And knowing where I stand
You can take it or leave it, this is me
This is who I am


Thanks so much for listening!

Xo, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Sounds great! You’re style fits that song well

aww thanks my friend! Looks like it's time for me to start doing more country covers. :)

Funny that we both posted our open mic entry within moments of each other this week!

Your voice suits this genre!

aww thanks @vincy!! That's really kind of you to say and i'm glad you enjoyed this cover. :)

You simply rock ma @coruscate, keep doing what you enjoy

thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. :)

music touch my heart :*

You do not regret it, coming from a remote area.
Because great people come from ordinary people.
May your life today be more successful.

Your voice is great. I also played ukulele.

Love this song, and love your version:) Hoping to learn the ukulele here myself! Your voice is so unique, I dig it.

Fits you very well! Keep at it :)

Greetings from Venezuela. I invite you to take a look at my first OpenMic post and support me: D and thanks in advance

congratulations very good interpretation, I invite you to give a view to my first OpenMic post and support me: D and thanks in advance
STEEMIT OPEN MIC SEMANA 85 - Time in a Bottle by @maycorjerjes18

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77