Expensive Wine | @daily-musings Original Song | Steemit Open Mic Week 84

in #openmic6 years ago

My first entry for a open mic contest! Please excuse the bad lighting, staticy beginning, and bum leg. The show must go on :)

Expensive Wine

All roads lead west
when you're driving to the sunset
you say and I'm smiling
driving down highway 101
sun is sinking into the California coastline
and i remember thinking
you're white knuckling like your holding a gun
and I'm glad I've got my seatbelt on
because i've got fifty-five dollar sangria
you nod in agreement
that it's a good a use of money
and a good use of time
to spend it drinking expensive wine
and I remember it felt so quiet
as we stopped along the oceanside
we were driving south
and we stop and find
where the waterfalls go
to the oceanside
I remember thinking that this was wild
seeing night skies light up
with ghosts of fire
southern California cliff sides high
I would climb down with you
if i get bruised I don't care I want see it, see it
Smile when you get there
Snap a picture smile
I remember flying
Flying high seeing palm trees waving
waving bye
and I felt so lucky
Lucky I got to with you
I'll see you in a while

Sort:  

Absolutely love your voice and hope we hear more from you soon. Welcome to the Open Mic community on Steemit.

Steemit_Open_Mic_Winner.png

Click here to see who won Open Mic Week 84:

Steemit Open Mic Week 84 Winners See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week --- by @luzcypher

Oh my goodness thank you so much! I definitely plan on having better quality videos in the future too! Thanks for welcoming me to the community :)

Good to have you here. You may want to add a comment to the main post that I added a link to above so more people will see your blog.

Good point 👍 still getting the hang of steemit

Great Job! Good Luck with the open Mic contest!

Thanks so much! 👍

Hooray! You got your video working, albeit a little dark haha

The technical difficulties were many, but at least you guys do it every week. I'll try to get a better set up next time haha

I can only imagine! I've passed it on so maybe you may get noticed somewhere! I'm always happy to help out someone like yourself with such talent...you deserved to get noticed, technical difficulties or not :) So glad you got in on the open mic contest too.

My husband and I took an awesome impromptu road trip from Vancouver, Canada (just north of Seattle) to Mississippi, with stops in California, Vegas, New Orleans just to name a few. That's what your song made us think of. name is @briancourteau ...I'm like, "you have to listen and upvote this girl" haha

Cheers :)

Aw thanks for telling me about it! I had no idea there was such a big music community on steemit.
Roadtrips are the best (and also the worst at times) but there is something so freeing about getting on the highway and seeing the sights that are usually skip over. Your trip sounds awesome, how long did it take?
Well feel free to download the track off dsounds and jam along during your next road trip :)

haha that's awesome! We took almost a month to do that one; we've actually done a few across the country, but now we up and moved to Mexico and don't even have a car anymore, so bus trips it is from here on out :)

And I so happy to see from your post that you are getting discovered here!! I am so very excited for you :)

Wow, girl! This is a bit of a sleeper entry, and oh so good... Nice!

Thank you for the follow. You really have a great voice there. All the best. Sorry, no upvote value at the moment. Just come to say hai.

Thank you for listening :)

My pleasure

Wooowwww. This is a beautiful song and your voice is unreal. Thank you so much for sharing this. <3

Thanks so much :) ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63153.76
ETH 3045.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97