Steemit Open Mic #67 // Original Song // Dandelion Lakewood - The Dividends (Bairro Alto, Portugal)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Bom dia from Portugal, Steemians!

I guess it’s time to share my submission to Open Mic #67 (a prime number). I already saw some good work by @ivan.atman and @isaria, and my Scottish buddy @kiloindigo, so go show them some love, it’s how we do.

Here’s an old tune of mine from around 2007, when the #banksters decided to give us a regular folk a reason to invent #cryptocurrency. I had just gotten laid off from my first and only “real” corporate job at a subprime mortgage company. I knew they were fishy when I took the job, but didn’t care because $.

I made this video specially for Steemit Open Mic #67. Enjoy! Thanks to @luzcypher and @pfunk as always. Be sure to vote @pfunk as a witness to keep this show rollin along.

The Dividends

I knock down blocks just to
build them back up,
it don’t matter if
somebody underneath
them gets crushed.

I sell slingshots to the
kids on both sides of the
tracks to keep them in a
perpetual fight.

Oh it just makes sense
to keep our enemies incensed
and drain our tax dollars into defense
so that the dividends are dispensed

When the armies and the
leaders and the contractors conspire
they have the power to
acquire whatever they desire.

When the dollar is
dependent on the
price of energy we have to
threaten our suppliers to
protect the currency.

Oh it just makes sense
to keep our enemies incensed
and drain our tax dollars into defense
so that the dividends are dispensed

Sort:  

i had smile right off. love the location and look. great fun song really refreshing, good sound my friend. fantastic lyrics

:) thank you for the kind words

Love the lyrics and the whole shebang... Nice, Dandelion!

Thank you for checking it out!

Listening to this song put such a big smile on my face, it sounds like the blues.
Sadly the lyrics are still so extremely relevant. People like you are making the change we need in the world Dandy!
Thanks for playing, peace!

Awwwww thanks brother!

Great lyrics. Thanks for joining the Open Mic community. Hope to hear more from you soon.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

My pleasure! I’m all aboard.

Love the lyrics, very relevant! Nice job man.

I have always loved this one. Sad that it still rings true. Hopefully someone someday hears it, and thinks about how weird of a time it must have been... haha.

Yeah, sad to say it’s held up remarkably well...

But yes I’m glad you remember it, back in the good old mustache days!

I played drums during this one at the Kathouse Lounge, haha.

Aaaaaha those were the days

All right Dandy 😁 oh this chorus makes sense
it tells it as it is haha, thanks for the shoutout, keep on keeping on brudda

Hahaha yeaaaaaah

This post has received gratitude of 0.49 % from @appreciator thanks to: @dandelion.

This post has received a 1.31 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @dandelion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62199.58
ETH 3014.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57