STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 69, Original Song "Angeline"

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit,

This is for Steemit Open Mic Week 69

I wrote this song "Angeline" and it's one that I sing when I'm hanging out at home with my daughter, so she joined me for this performance. "Angeline" is about someone who came along and changed someone else, forever, in a good way.

Thanks to @luzcypher & @pfunk for hosting Open Mic, and for those who are taking the time to listen and watch these videos.

Lyrics:

There was a light in the darkness
It wouldn't let me pass by
It pulled me from the shadows
Then it lifted me high

I think you came to save me Angeline
There was a fire in your soul like I had never seen
Came to save me Angeline
To go into this world

And it's a long road to freedom
Full of death and decay
And love is hard to find
But you showed me the way

Came to save me Angeline
There was a fire in your soul like I had never seen
Came to save me Angeline
To go into this world

But sometimes the lights that are brightest
Oh they don't last too long
And you shone like the sun
But then one day you were gone

I think you came to save me Angeline
There was a fire in your soul like I had never seen
Came to save me Angeline
To go into this world

Sort:  

so many elements that worked here just grabbed anyone watching im sure. you and your little girl and you both sing so damn good together, both great great voices, and fantastic playing you are carrying that rhythm so right on... tops guys wow

Thank you for the kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to listen, and for the feedback!

Just excellent. I have always found it interesting how there is so much music about first loves, lost loves, torn relationships, etc. But those with children know that they are the most awe inspiring, emotion invoking, precious things on this earth. It seems like every song ever written should be about children. Love the song, love the dynamic with your daughter, love it all man. Upvoted and keep going.

Thank you for taking the time! We had so much fun. Yes, it is surprising how many songs are about love, lost love and torn relationships. :)

This is music at its best. Very impressive, Kudos

Thank you!

Upvoting here since I missed the post payout window.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks for hosting! :)

I'm falling in love with your music Daniel :) it's so genuine and relaxing. Very glad I followed this blog

Thanks @chimtivers96 I'm listening to "Bones" now!

heartwarming

Perhaps that'll be you soon...

I am glad you like it!

I've never been a singer until I had my daughter... I find looking at her or just sharing those special daddy daughter moments brings out emotions that would go perfect in a song. You guys are amazingly entertaining... IF my daughter wasn't sleeping, I would have her up now watching this.. haha... take care... just followed you...

daddy daughter cool.jpg

Thank you! All the best raising your little one. These moments are precious.

You're quite welcome. Super sweet. Do you know Hoots and Hellmouth? Your guitar playing reminds me of Sean Hoots a bit and I think you might like their stuff. Keep up the good work!

I've only heard the name, have never checked them out, but will now. Hey I like your open mic videos. Very creative and a good vibe!

Thanks man. I'm about to invest in a new mic and I hope to do some higher quality recordings of my own stuff.

That'll be great. I use a blue snowball mic for home recordings. It's a pretty cheap route and sounds good with garage band at least.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62521.03
ETH 3025.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97