Steemit Openmic Week 75 Original Song "Georgia" with Ben Lee!

in #openmic6 years ago

A few weeks ago I met a young fellow from Iraq who is currently living in Ohio. He described how difficult it is to find a place somewhere between two worlds, the traditions of his culture back home, and his new life in the USA. That night after our conversation, this tune came into my head, but instead of Iraq it turned into Georgia, a lovely country with the Black Sea to the west, and the Caucasus Mountains to the North. I think this is because it's a place that is often overlooked, and where I'm from people always think of the state, and not the country. It's a place I had been longing to visit, and I finally had the chance to go a couple of years ago. It left quite an impression.

Since Ben Lee (@benleemusic) has made his way across the world from Australia to California, it seemed like a good choice to sing with him. His drums were a very nice surprise and I just love his energy on this song.

Thank you @krystle, @soundlegion, @passion-ground, @verbal-d, and @meno for all of your hard work, and to @luzcypher and @pfunk for sponsoring open mic!

Lyrics for "Georgia"

The rain pounds against the window
The train rocks through the night
Unfamiliar words are all around
And I hold on tight

Oh those days in Georgia
But not the one you know
We had mountains with
early morning snow
Oh those days in Georgia
But not the one you see
Those black waters they still
Speak to me

Now this city is a wonder
Now I guess I have it all
And I’m rising to the top
But I’ve never felt so small

Oh those days in Georgia
But not the one you know
We had mountains with
early morning snow
Oh those days in Georgia
But not the one you see
Those black waters they still
Speak to me

Sing me a song of sorrow
With your sweet harmony
'cause yesterday’s tomorrow
Is a place I’m bound to be

Now this house is full of people
Another year and we rejoice
But I slip into the shadows
But I guess I’ve made my choice

Oh those days in Georgia
But not the one you know
We had mountains with
early morning snow
Oh those days in Georgia
But not the one you see
Those black waters they still
Speak to me

Sort:  

Loved working on this with you!

Man I love your energy on this song. Thanks again.

Holy cow dude, that was beautiful. Your voice is haunting. Like I plan on showing this to all my friends because seriously its awesome! Much love. Resteemed so its on my blog too :3

Nice collaboration guys! Love the song and know that feeling.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks Luzcypher!

Outstanding collaboration, gentlemen! Great composition, Daniel, and Ben - you just a bad-boy on them brushes, ain't ya, mate! Great harmonies, and a relevant story that is very much worthy of sharing! Thank you two!

Thank you @passion-ground, and for your ongoing hard work!

Great idea to make a video like this!
Ps I really do like this song, especially with the backing vocals.

Thanks @aweber. Looking forward to next weekend!!

Wow, lovely. I love the rythm. Those days in Georgia.💪

<3 wow ! this is amazing
<3 your feelings for others are amazing.

your welcome brother :)

That's terrific. I love the sound, and the lyrical contrast between a place in the United States that's flat(ish), warm, and familiar with a place that's cold, mountainous and alien.

Excellent work on both counts. The drums and backing vocals added a nice texture.

Thanks so much Hans!

Beautiful song and great execution!

that was a great song Daniel and Ben, I like the vocals and the harmonies when you guys sing together ... that 6/8 rock guitar and drums sounds perfect!

Thank you so much@davidfar!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61113.33
ETH 2927.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69