Steemit Open Mic Week 89 - Resolve - Original music by @darrenclaxton

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to my OpenMic entry this week! I was going to have a rest from the gathering this week, but really wanted to share this song with you all. I hope you like it.



Resolve is a song about my childhood. Myself and little sister were raised my dad, something unheard of back in 1980, when our mother walked out on us all. There is still no reason why she did that, but I've not missed having her around because my dad is the GREATEST man I know, and my kids have an amazing mother so that is all I need to hold on to. The people in the photo are me with my son and daughter - my sister also had a son and daughter - beautiful.

Lyrics


As a young boy I had my share
of pain and loss but always fair
times I tried to wonder why
was me the others did I try

The garden path I used to walk
back from school, without, without a thought
times were good but they had their faults
but my daddy he did try to resolve
but my daddy he did try to resolve

Travelling back of thoughts when young
the journey's new the lesson's begun
keeping them safely locked away
they stay with us tomorrow, today
and help and help and help

Years roll by and memories fade
but the important ones have always stayed
bad times made us who we are
however near or far
but the times were good and had their faults

Travelling back of thoughts when young
our journey's new the lesson's begun
keeping them safely locked away
they stay with us tomorrow, today.


Thanks for listening, commenting, voting and supporting me and my music!
Darren



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Darren Claxton is a Songwriter, Musician and Producer of his own music, from Derbyshire UK. The music he writes is often heartfelt acoustic indie folk with a sprinkling of rock and country influences, with an occasional world music flavour as heard on his track ‘Dragonfly’. But most of all, it's his passive emotive thoughts and feelings that are delivered through that soothing vocal, and intricate guitar playing of his.



Steemthat


Sort:  

Great song and big cheer to your dad, Darren!

Both songs and lyrics are great. Tune tone...awesome👌👌

Another magical Track, wouldl ove to know your recording set up, sounds really crisp.

Hey man! Thanks for dropping by for a watch and listen! I did a Darren's Demo's video a few weeks ago demonstrating my recording set up!

Awesome song, and you have amazing tone. Not to mention you're a great musician as well. What tuning are you using on the guitar?

Thanks my friend! I'm using Jimmy Page's favourite tuning which is DADGAD

Alright, dude, that's enough, man... you are totally killing me here, bro! Can't you just put out some so-so "shit" every now and again to make my life a bit easier...

I love this Darren

Mate!! that's awfully kind of you to say! I just write stories to music! my creative process is usually very quick and seamless!
I will promise to put out 'Some Shit' for next weeks OpenMic gathering!
Thanks again for your support man! It means a lot to me to be connecting with so many people through my songs!

Aww Darren I missed this somehow.. how beautiful your voice always is. ♥

Thanks for the love Serena!
I can't wait to hear some of your new material!

HOW👏ARE👏YOU👏SO👏GOOD👏

God, that guitar in the beginning is fucking gorgeous ❤️Resteeming immedes.

HOW👏ARE👏YOU👏SO👏GORGEOUS👏

Thanks Lils!!!

I loved it @darrenclaxton (you caught my eye, because I am from
The small southern USA town, Claxton Georgia)
I have also resteemed this post and upvoted, for what it is worth
With the price of steem so low.
I also entered the #openmic contest, with a cover for Father's Day.

LOL, my Georgia town is smaller... I'm from Young Harris GA. I was in Statesboro a month or two ago, my daughter was doing a college visitation.

I guess I'm not far from you now, I live in Atlanta now @coinsandchains.
I actually went from one of the smallest to the largest. I live in one of
The worst parts of town, about 1.6 miles from the Mercedes Benz
Stadium, on the edge of "The Bluff" which is renowed for
Being the Heroine capitol of all Ga, not to mention the
High crime that goes with it.
From all the mentions "Young Harris" gets in the news in
Relation to sports I would have thought it was a larger
Town, perhaps with a college of some kind? Anyway
Nice to meet you

I know where it is, and you are right it does get bad. My wife has been down that way for the last two days. She does HUD compliance for Wesley Woods Senior Living and was visiting their Brannon Towers and Asbury Harris properties.
Young Harris does have a college, and we live a mile away from it. My Daughter was excepted and got a 15,000 scholarship and the Zell scholarship, but it was still going to cost us over 10,000 per year. She opted for North Georgia College & SU with scholarships it costs us very little.
Young Harris is so small there is not even a Gas station, all we really have is the college, a couple restaurants and a dollarstore

How far from Hotlanta is it @coinsandchains?
I might like to talk with your wife, I have
A few concerns about this place I live
Which is a 501c3, but is administered
By Atlanta Housing Authority.
If I can find another place, especially if
I can up my disability claims/payout, I want
To bust the doors off this place (I used to work
In Maintenance at the Housing Projects down home
So I know how to work on and maintain these few buildings
And I know they are cheating the Gov't.
Gotta go, I"ll be back in a few hours.

The two properties she was at are in Atlanta, all she does at those properties is check their HUD compliance. She was at one in Athens today, she's had a crazy week.
The properties are not in the greatest neighborhoods but, it's definately better than where you're at and better managed than AHA. One catch they are 62 and older properties, they do have some exemptions around disabilities etc. you would have to check with the on-site people.
I personally think this is the nicer of the two, and a bit better neighborhood.
Asbury Harris Epworth Towers
3033 Continental Colony Pkwy SW, Atlanta, GA 3033
(404) 344-9400

Branan Towers
1200 Glenwood Ave SE, Atlanta, GA 30316
(404) 622-5471

Thanks @coinsandchains, you may not understand Yet. I will be 63 this Aug. I am disabled in a mild
Sort of way; my SS disability is for my hearing!
(How odd is that?)♫♪☺♫♪ as a result, I get
About $635 per month of usable income.
Therefore I live in this place, in two rooms.
image.png
The measurements were done by me, as was this diagram, so things are approximate
Just TWO ROOMS.. with all my stuff, keyboard,
Electronics (two computers, one here for regular
Work, and one dedicated for music) my TV...all that
In the "living room" which connects to the bedroom
Via a hallway/kitchen that leads to the bathroom,
Which is adjacent to the bedroom. my RENT is
set by my income, which is only my disability
Checks, they don't count my music income,
Which used to exceed my SS income by a
Lot.
Hence I feel they are defrauding us and the Gov't.
My rent is $9 per month! yet I pay $105 with added
Fees; Water/Sewer/Garbage is now $90 per month.
Somehow, I feel that should be covered in their
Contract with the Gov't. The HUD rent for this
Apartment is set at $650 per month, (which I
Think is excessive for 2 rooms in the ghetto)

I think that $90 fee (that just went up from $77) goes to paying the various salaries of the few, very few
Staff. They've given themselves a raise. imo

Well definitely check into those. They have all kinds of stuff going on. I think most of their properties have utilities other than phone/internet included. My Wife's property (Branon Lodge in Blairsville GA 2+ hour from you) even has "Guest Wi-Fi" throughout the property (they have a 6 month to 2 year waiting list).
It's always been strange to me how they do the rents, and market rent on a lot of HUD properties is more than $1000, but most people pay way less.

Thanks for your support mate! I did notice a town in Georgia called Claxton!

Places called Claxton in United Kingdom.

Claxton - North Yorkshire - United Kingdom (England)
Claxton - Norfolk - United Kingdom (England)
Claxton - Norfolk - United Kingdom (England)
Claxton - Hartlepool - United Kingdom (England)

Places called Claxton in America.

Claxton - Tennessee - America
Claxton - Kentucky - America
Claxton - Georgia - America

Places called Claxton in Canada.

Claxton - British Columbia - Canada


Good Morning Darren, there are actually families of "Claxton" here
In S Ga, out of curiosity I looked some up... well you know, because
I'm FROM Claxton, living in and around Macon and Dublin Ga,
Both in the center of the state. You may have some cousins
Here! ☺
Glad to help with your song @darrenclaxton, mine isn't
Gaining Nearly the return that yours is, but I am
Still gratified by it. Have a splendid day!

Wow Darren how beautiful this piece is incredible. regards

Thank you so much for your kind words!
I really love sharing my music and stories with you all here on @steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78