Steemit Open Mic Week #85: Whitehouse Road (Cover)

in #openmic6 years ago

I'll get back to originals. But I'm not going to lie...I love cover songs, too. And I love this song a whole lot. It's by a singer / songwriter named Tyler Childress. There is a whole lot wrong with country music these days. This song has nothing to do with that. It's a perfect, powerful and awesome song that I'm doing here for open mic this week because I can't get enough of of it. Singing it. Listening to it. So here it is. I hope you dig this song, too.

WHITEHOUSE ROAD
words and music by TYLER CHILDRESS

Early in the morning when the sun does rise
Layin' in the bed with bloodshot eyes
Late in the evenin' when the sun sinks low
Well that's about time my rooster crows
I got women up and down this creek
And they keep me going and my engine clean
Run me ragged but I don't fret
Cause there ain't been one slow me down none yet

Get me drinking' that moonshine
Get me higher than the grocery bill
Take my troubles to the highwall
Throw'em in the river and get your fill
We been sniffing that cocaine
Ain't nothin' better when the wind cuts cold
Lord it's a mighty hard livin'
But a damn good feelin' to run these roads

I got people try to tell me, Red
Keep this livin' and you'll wind up dead
Cast your troubles on the Lord of Lord's
Or wind up laying on a coolin' board
But I got buddies up White House Road
And they keep me strutting when my feet hang low
Rotgut whiskey gonna ease my pain
'N all this runnin's gonna keep me sane

Get me drinking' that moonshine
Get me higher than the grocery bill
Take my troubles to the highwall
Throw'em in the river and get your fill
We been sniffing that cocaine
Ain't nothin' better when the wind cuts cold
Lord it's a mighty hard livin'
But a damn good feelin' to run these roads
It's a damn good feelin' to run these roads

When they lay me in the cold hard clay
Won't ya sing them hymns while the banjo plays
You can tell them ladies that they ought not frown
Cause there ain't been nothing ever held me down
Lawmen, women or a shallow grave
Same ol' blues just a different day

Get me drinking' that moonshine
Get me higher than the grocery bill
Take my troubles to the highwall
Throw'em in the river and get your fill
We been sniffing that cocaine
Ain't nothin' better when the wind cuts cold
Lord it's a mighty hard livin'
But a damn good feelin' to run these roads
It's a damn good feelin' to run these roads
It's a damn good feelin' to run these roads

© Tyler Childress, 2016

Sort:  

i was loving this my friend really in the groove performance was felt..mmm

I love me some covers too, bro - this one you chose here today, got me pretty good! Brought me back to some memories of Southern California - Laguna Beach in particular - where I threw down and experienced some serious emotion from the corners of a beachside club called "The WhiteHouse." Nice, brother - Loved this, man!

Hot damn, Dino!!! That's some fire right there! 🔥 If anyone can rock a cover like it's their own, you definitely can! Suddenly my feet start tappin :D. Yeah!

To enter Steemit Open Mic please follow the rules. Thank you.

Click here for more about Open Mic rules

Did I miss something?

Must have been a mistake intended for a different post. you covered all bases bro don't worry. Great cover song and performance too, very catchy song

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98