Steemit Open Mic Week 105- Old (Original)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)


(Update) I missed the Open Mic deadline! But that's ok! I hope you all enjoy the song anyway. Cheers!!

Hey Steemit fam!! I know it's been a while but I'm glad to be back and posting again. I have sooooo much content and music to share so I'll try not to post everything too close together as to drive you all crazy lol.

This song is one that is very close to my heart. It's called Old. I wrote it about my mother. She was a single mom raising two kids on her own with out help or support in this expensive ass city (Los Angeles) and life was very difficult for her. She would often say to herself "I feel so old... I shouldn't feel this old." That is the saying I built this song around. My mother ended up passing away when I was in high school so of course I've never been able to ask her about her experience, but I tried to write this as if I were writing through my mothers eyes, trying to put myself in her shoes with some of the hardships she experienced.

I just returned from a small tour in which I had an amazing opportunity to meet up with a bunch of other talented Steemit artists in Toronto for the Steemit Creators Conference. Literally had the time of my life!! While touring, this seemed to be the song that people connected with the most. I think it's because this is a very common story unfortunately. But I love that we can write something from a bit of our own experiences and connect it to other peoples experiences. These are the moments that I live for as an artist. That vulnerable moment of human connection with someone you've never met. It's an incredibly beautiful thing. Anyway, I wrote this song as a dedication to all the amazing, hard working, powerful, and strong single moms out there doing the damn thing. I know it doesn't feel like it a lot of the time, but we see you. We appreciate you. And the world so much more of a beautiful place with you in it.


Lyrics:

There’s a fever running through my blood burning through my veins and it ain’t no good
I’ve given all that I could, all that I should, but it wasn’t good enough
Feels like I’m going under

Hot coals burning in my soul pulling at the threads not to lose control
I’ve done everything in my power, where is my power, gave up my power somewhere on the road, trying to find my soul

Oh I feel so damn old

There is a river that’s about to flow
Though it does me no good I know, as I wash away my pride with every single tear that I cry, waiting for the sun to rise
Because there’s a fever running through my blood burning through my veins and it ain’t no good
I’ve given all that I could, all that I should, but it wasn’t good enough
Feels like I’m going under
Oh I feel so

So damned old I feel it in my bones
Oh baby baby, where to go
When you’re trying to make a home
Between a rock and a hard place
Wishing the world would make some space for you I know
Oh I feel so old

There’s a hunger somewhere deep with them, something that tells me maybe I can win, if only I knew the game
Then maybe I could play the same, if someone would show me the way
Oh I’m so tired, of being tired, I just need a break
Oh I feel so

So damned old I feel it in my bones
Oh baby baby, where to go
When you’re trying to make a home
Between a rock and a hard place
Wishing the world would make some space for you I know
Oh I feel so old

i’m so far gone, I’m all alone
Go to bed, wake up and do it all again

I feel so old

Sort:  

This post has been selected for curation by @isaria and has been upvoted with the @msp-music account as well as the @msp-curation account, and will be featured in @isaria's weekly music curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport community curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us in the Minnow Support Palnet Discord!

Oh wow, amazing! Thank you so much!!!

Dig the hat, the voice and the dudes :) ✌ this pro style yo

Ayyyyye! Thanks for the love yo!!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thanks Artzone!!!

Pleasure Cheers :)

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Amazing, thank you!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86