STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 69 - The Walding Family // STILTED SOLILOQUY

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

@heymattsokol and I threw down on one of our newest live tunes, Stilted Soliloquy. The roots of this song go deep. The first ideas for it were demoed over 5 years ago, with the current form being a little over a year old. We had to do some serious surgery to our initial demos to get it to it's new state, which involved a lot of chopping and manipulating in our DAWs. The recording for the song was done long distance, Matt in Connecticut, I in Raleigh, NC. We ended up releasing the song's final version without having actually been in the same room playing it. Performing the song was a novel problem, as we had to reverse engineer the parts to be appropriate for a two piece.

The main guitar groove has survived the song's various iterations. I remember writing it one day after being really bummed one day about cleaning swimming pools (being a musician involves doing a lot of odd jobs...). The two chords, Bb major and G minor 6, piqued my harmonic interest when I started hearing the former as a lydian modal sound. I think it's fascinating that the context of the two chords renders the normally bright lydian sound as dark and ponderous. Matt does some great noise drumming in the intro, and is solidly grooving throughout. Be sure to check the original version on our soundcloud. I love the parts he wrote in that version as well!

Thanks for listening,
Elijah

Sort:  

Glad you got in under the deadline. Would not want to have missed this. Please try to get them in earlier next week. Cool jam, man.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

My fault lol I only sent the final clip to Elijah yesterday evening. We'll be faster next time

JAM! sounds great guys rockin

Pretty Cool, this reminds me of Real Estate a little......digging the looper!

I've never really listened to Real Estate but I've heard that comparison before, guess I gotta check them out! Thanks for watching.

Nice toys.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78