You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit's Official Open Mic Judge @Verbal-D's Top 5 Entries For Week 78 (Original Blog)

in #openmic6 years ago

I cant be more happy than i already am... Its a priviledge once again to top your list.. Your write up underneath our performance is just what bursts my head... That not withstanding is there any where you think are my lapses i would like your critics on that one so i can work on it !
Congrats to all the contestants .. Listened to all your music too it was really cool...

Sort:  

It is easy to place you when you earn and deserve it with your performances. I am happy you're happy. This was a really good entry. Since you asked, As far as critiques go, I don't have much to say besides a slight sliding up short on a half note for the chorus section at 2:08-2:10 , but it was very minor and you can compare that to a more clear and pristine chorus from 2:28-2:31 and you recovered well keeping consistent with your runs, your falsetto head voice is improving, but remember when you submitted your entry for Listen by Beyonce a few weeks back?

That performance started out okay but if you listen to it, your emotions got the best of you and you were off key and not fully in control of the notes you were trying to hit. The vibrato and power of your voice matched the correct intensity, but in the moment, you maybe didn't realize you were hitting the wrong notes throughout the entry and when you submit entries like that, you will notice when I don't add you to my list, because you clearly can sing when you focus and are passionately in tune with the song like this entry above. Keep up the great performances, you are still growing, as we all are.

Wow... I didnt even know.. This means alot to me critics or positive comments ... I entertain critics too some times cause its necessary for growth... Yeah its true i remember i ran out of breathe for a while in the song, i was struggling cause my voice hadnt been in its best shape infact since i started openmic cause of school stress since january was tryna push it tho .. As for the falsetto there was a time about last year i couldnt do any of those falsettos it was pretty hard thats why i practiced hard, with my voice in its best shape it could come off better than this though... So thanks for the critics i would work on them... The song you gave to me am gonna work on it with time. My exams are so close i have been busy with reading and i havent really put up my best performances here cause of alot of constraints but its all good... With time tho!! Thanks verbal-d.
Is there any technique u might want me to practice that would be cool ? I would love to learn and expand my vocal abilities .

You're welcome, I understand everything you speak about. Take your time and focus on your studies for sure. As far as vocal abilities and expansion, you can check out some of India Arie's music and see what she inspires out of you. She has a great voice and knows how to use the dynamics of sound to deliver her deep and stirring messages of love, poverty, and healing. Definitely someone to study and learn from in my opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70963.77
ETH 3821.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47