Steemit Open Mic week 109 | The love me or die - C.W. Stoneking (cover)

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)


Happy Halloween, I decided to participate in the Steemit Open Mic in his 109th week to continue my Halloween fever, for this I chose a song by C.W. Stoneking that talks about the dangers of black magic, the story of a Hoodoo called The Love Me Or die.

julio.gif

On this occasion my friend Julio Landaeta accompanies me on the trumpet, also plays the corresponding melodies of trombone and clarinet.

BANJOLIN.gif

All the other instruments are played by me, including the banjolin, a new instrument that adds to my list and that fits perfectly with this song.

reel.gif

For a few months I have no recording interface in my studio, this led me to the need to learn new analog recording methods, that's how I learned to record in MiniDisc as in my Iggy Pop cover that you can listen to here, in this I recorded all the instruments individually, using a metronome for synchronization, each channel mixed analogically in the Fostex 3060 console and later mastered in a Tascam 32 tape reel.

C.W. Stoneking is an amazing Australian composer who has participated in Halloween productions like Over The Garden Wall with Patrick McHale, it was in this beautiful animation where I met the talent of Stoneking when giving life to the character of John Crops, I was impressed with his voice and his style based on the origins of the Blues, the rest of his work maintains this quality, with other horror songs like The Zombie, whose video was animated by Patrick McHale.


Love Me Or Die | C.W. Stoneking

I studied evil, I can't deny
Was a hoodoo charm called a Love Me or Die
Some fingernail, a piece of her dress
Apocathery, Devil's behes'
I will relate, the piteous consequence my mistake
Fallin slave to passin desire
Makin' the dreaded Love me or Die

Against a Jungle primeval green
She had the looks of a beauty queen
No bangles or chain, wearin' broken shoe
Seventy-five cent bottle perfume
I said, "Good mornin", I tipped my hat
All the while I was cunning like a rat
Smilin gaily, looked her in the eye
I felt in pocket, the Love me or Die

My past history, one to behold
I studied magic from days of old
Membership, secret societies
Power and wealth in my family
But Matilda, Darling
Why you don't take my wedding ring
Like a demon under the floor
I buried the hoodoo down the back door

Lawd, word broke through the town
That a fever strike Matilda down
Nine thirty, the doctor arrive
Priest come runnin, quarter to five
Standin in the weeds early next day
I saw the meat wagon rollin away
I seen Matilda layin in the back
Her old mother wearin a suit of black

Sound the trumpet, and bang the drum
I wait for me judgement to come
I know her spirit is down beneath
I hear the weepin and gnashing of the teeth
Flames of Hell licks at my feet
In the shadow of the Jungle I feel the heat
Matilda's waiting in Hell for me too
All cause she died from a bad hoodoo

Soon my lovely girl @dreamsaboutcats will share with you a little more about the story of The Love Me Or Die, with an artistic surprise and more details about this terrifying story.

It has been a very fun month with my horror covers in October Rocks with ExzorLtg, I thank all those who have supported me in this personal project, since I was two weeks without being able to post covers I will extend my Halloween until November 12th, there are still more songs to share with you, with guests, friends and nightmares for all you guys.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

good video, friend> thank you for sharing on dtube

Im just, speechless. I love it!!!! You guys sound great! I played piccolo, flut, clarinet growing up. My son is a brass man. Hes playing trombone and baritone. What a refreshing thing it is fo hear some music!!! You guys rock! Im glad @aidarojaswriter told me about you guys!!! You rock!

thanks @prettynicevideo <3 maybe we can record something :D check "I heard the marching of the drum" of C.W. Stoneking and lets try it!

Es Muy bien amigos!!!! Me gusta muchooo :)

You are just too awesome!!! Congrats on the Curie upvote, so well deserved <3

Estoy muy orgullosa de ti! Hiciste un increible trabajo y le pusiste mucho corazón, es bonito ser testigo del avance de tus amigos <3 por estas cosas tan geniales me motivo todos los dias! Quedó increible y no puedo parar de oírlo, nunca dudes de tu talento, tu todo lo puedes!

gracias cushe x) ya sabes cual es mi proximo reto, debo ir a pasar roncha para emular ese dolor y feeling

Hi @exzorltg!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.043 which ranks you at #24032 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 184 places in the last three days (old rank 24216).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 490 contributions, your post is ranked at #318.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16