Steemit Open Mic Week 52 FIRST UPLOAD – Pines of Romes Trumpet Excerpt

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone, this is my first upload for Openmic!

I’ve just recently discovered steemit and openmic and decided that I should join in - especially as this week marks a year for the competition. My submission is very different from the ones I’ve seen so far and I hope that it’s allowed. I’m a classical trumpet player (though I do play jazz as well) and I hope that my submissions over the coming weeks will help spread the love for classical music.

This week I’m performing an excerpt from Ottorino Respighi’s Pines of Rome. The piece is a tone poem, written in four movements. Tone poems are similar to symphonies, written for a symphony orchestra, to illustrate either a poem, artwork, or story through music. This style of composition was made famous by the German composer Richard Strauss.

Pines of Rome depicts pine trees located in different areas of Rome during different times of the day. This excerpt comes from the second movement: The Pines Near a Catacomb. This trumpet solo is played offstage as the Sanctus hymn.

This week I’ve just put together an impromptu recording just using my phone. I may need to sort out something for better sound quality in the future as I’m purposely playing softly to limit distortion. Also you can probably hear that it really doesn’t like certain notes – like B (2nd finger note at 49secs).

Happy to hear any feedback :)

Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing all this information! that's great! All the best! Waiting for more posts! :)

No problem! I hope I can inform people through my playing and the info provided :)

This will also give me a good way to add a bit extra to my practice each day/week. Thanks for the comment! :)

Very cool. I really enjoyed reading about the history of the piece, and then hearing it played. The soft tone you played in sounded almost flute-like.

I wouldn't have noticed the clipping if you didn't call attention to it, but if you wanted to play louder you could always turn the gain down and run it through a compressor afterwards. Maybe you tried already. If so then ignore me.

Looking forward to more posts!

Thanks for your feedback, yeah I think the clipping was really noticable on my phone and hasn't seemed to come through as much on YouTube/ computer.

Nice job! It's cool to see another horn player on here. Keep it up.

Thanks! I was wondering if there was another horn player about.

Congratulations @fred101! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit Open Mic.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

wow, so beautiful..

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fred101 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71238.01
ETH 3865.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51