Steemit Openmic Week #55 – Haydn Trumpet Concerto

in #openmic7 years ago

Hey everyone!

This week I’m playing the 2nd Movement of the Haydn Trumpet Concerto

The concerto was composed in 1796 for trumpeter Anton Weidinger. Weidinger invented the keyed trumpet, a much more versatile instrument than the natural trumpet which preceded it. The concerto was a great success in its time, however critics of the keyed trumpet complained about the quality of sound that was produced. It was only another 20 or so years before the first valve trumpets were invented.

Thanks for listening!

Oh and for those who are interested, I had my audition a couple days ago with the excerpts I played in the week #53 open mic competition (plus others as well) and it was great! Even nailed that last note! :D

Sort:  

Hi @fred101,

I just wanted to thank you for creating this post, and let you know that it was shared on the Steemit's Best Classical Music facebook page, and also included in Steemit's Best Classical Music Roundup [Issue #17].

Nice playing. It is good to see more classical music on Steemit. Keep it up!

Thanks! Classical music is awesome! I'd love for more people to be able to see how great it really is.

Nice job, @fred101! Let me ask, have you ever heard Wynton Marsalis' recording of the Haydn Horn Concerto? It's pretty amazing.

Definitely! I love Wynton's playing so much. If you want to hear something really awesome listen to him playing Moto Perpetuo:

That's crazy good. All in one breath too. LOL. I don't follow trumpet much (I'm more into keyboard work), but Wynton is definitely my favorite. His phrasing is absolutely smooth.

Yeah it's called circular breathing, a technique where you can breathe in while still blowing out. It's tricky to learn and is mostly only used to play long notes, so it's really spectacular to do what hesdoing there.

I really like the music history lessons you add to your posts.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks! I like to inform people about music that they may have no idea about :)

Sweet man!, really enjoyed that!, not the typical stuff i use to watch :)

Thanks @dreamrafa stay tuned, I plan on playing the first movement for next week's @openmic :)

Great piece man! I also learned something new from your post. You're amazing!

Thanks! I kike to be able to inform people about the wonderful music they're missing out on :)

amazing sound. loved it. makes me want to learn how to play the trumpet.

Definitely give it a go. It can be a tough beast but it's always lots of fun!

it's always hard learning a new instrument isn't it :(

Follow @businessres to receive an upvote on a post or comment from @businessbot

Great post. But sorry i don't have a lot of steempower, i Will support you with a comment and resteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.70
ETH 2948.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66