Steemit Openmic Week #56 – Haydn Trumpet Concerto Mov 1

in #openmic7 years ago

Hi Steemit!

Back again with some more trumpet for this week's Open Mic!

Today I'm playing the first movement of the Haydn Trumpet Concerto after last week's 2nd movement (makes sense, right?).

As I said last week, this was written for the keyed trumpet. Since then the trumpet has seen many changes, including the move to valves. It has also changed keys many times. This piece was written for the Eb keyed trumpet, but these days the most commonly played trumpet is in the lower key of Bb. This means that to play it on the Bb trumpet I have to play a perfect 4th higher than the written music, however Eb trumpets are still produced and I have played this piece on the Eb before (I just don't have the funds right now to buy one for myself). I can say that I definitely find it easier to play on the Eb trumpet - maybe if Steemit makes me rich I'll be able to buy one :p


(Schilke 'E3L' E flat trumpet with changeable D bell )

The cadenza I play at the end is the one played by the famous French trumpeter, Maurice André.

As always, thanks for listening!!

Sort:  

amazing fabulous performance.... thanks for sharing

Wow! I salute your expertise. Wonderful @fred101 . I play trumpet too, I only wish I could play this much

Thanks :) all about practice and dedication. However there's the 10,000 hours to become world-class at something theory and I'd say I'm still a fair way off that mark haha

@fred101 you my friend are talented and well disciplined dude how long you have played doesn't compare to how well you shred on that horn. thank you for uploading.

you crack me up! lovely work thanks so much for sharing all this with us, great performance lovely information, huge smiles to you, please keep bringing us more, I like its absolutely awesome

Thanks! :)

Well done! I played that piece when I was in school, years ago. It's weird how familiar it seems, even though it's been so long.

i dont know to play trumpet, but as i heard you playing it i can say that you're awesome hope to see more of videos. i'd like to here more of your music. :)

Thanks for the history and the fabulous performance. I loved Haydn when I was studying piano. He had a remarkable sense of humor for composers of that era.

Where do you find the accompaniment tracks for these performances?

Thanks for the comment :) A few years ago my teacher gave me a cd with the backing tracks to some commonly played trumpet pieces. I wish there were more like this with just the accompaniment. This specific one can be found on youtube though:

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 8.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @fred101
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fred101 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fred101 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84