Steemit Open Mic Week 42: Prismatic Form (ORIGINAL MUSIC)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone, back with another entry in @luzcypher's Steemit #openmic. Unlike the other two songs I've posted for this contest, this one was written purely intuitively. No rhythmic experimentation or fancy polymeter, just pretty harmony and melody that I think sounds like "me." The lyrics lie thematically in a similar territory as my other two entries, however; Prismatic Form is a contemplation of identity and image and a desire to transcend the physical.

Thanks for watching! To listen to more of my music, head over to the Cold Stars Bandcamp page!

Click here to learn more about/enter the Steemit Open Mic!

Sort:  

You start as a whisper and finish as the thunder. Love it. No microtonal needed, yet.

Hah, thank you! A professor once asked me - after I had told him about some microtonal stuff I was getting down with - if I was making microtonal music, and when I said no he asked why; I said I had my hands full with the tools I already had.

Very cool chord structure. Lots of interesting extensions n 7ths. Very "jazz" lol.

Oh and loved the spontaneous tapping !
Great to step outside of your norm sometimes!

Thanks! I guess it's not so outside my norm anymore because I wrote this about 2 years ago now, but even then it was aesthetically coherent with my other acoustic stuff. It's probably a more natural way for me to write actually, it's just that it's sort of part of a "project" that grew out of experimentation with polymetric fingerpicking.

Your music is so intricate and methodical. I really enjoy it! Keep up the great work!

Hah, it's funny you say that bc this is the least intricate and methodical thing I've made in this style. I'm glad you like it though, thanks for listening!

Wow! Nice to finally see some great musicians here on Steemit! Love this deep composition, I can feel the emotions through my speakers. If you ever feel like collaborating, hit me up! :) upvoted

I may have to, I really enjoy your drumming. Thanks for watching!

I appreciate that you look just like I would expect somebody named fungusmonk to. :3

I was in the middle of swallowing when I read this comment and I choked and started coughing hahaha

I've been using this name as an alias since way before I looked like I do now, but I guess I've grown into it! It just came from a band name generator, although it does have a certain psychedelic implication, as I later realized...

Believe it or not this really reminded me of some of Frank Zappa's stuff. Well done and good luck this week!

What's funny is, I know a lot about Zappa tangentially, but I've never sat down to listen to a full album. But I've been saying jokingly for some time, my music is like "emo Frank Zappa" hahaha.

It was actually after I wrote this song, but I've studied with someone who was friends with Zappa, and who was the conductor of the album Zappa's Universe, so now the subconscious influence is in there even deeper!

Embrace it Brother!

Oh definitely, if anything I'm gonna bump him up my "need to listen" list haha.

Sounds like a plan that won't disappoint!

Thanks for playing again. Some cool sounds you're making. Listening to it with my morning coffee

Thanks! Glad you're digging it.

Thanks for the share man. You really put it out there. You really started tapping them strings at the three-minute mark. I was hoping you were going to go all Serj Tankian on us.

Glad you dug it!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fungusmonk from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Really cool stuff! Great concept of harmony and melody!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65128.28
ETH 2950.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64