Steemit OpenmiC week 89 "If you could read my mind/Gordon Lightfoot" cover by @gibber

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

"If You Could Read My Mind"

The living legend Gordon Lightfoot's classic breakup song which was one of his first hits inspired by his divorce from his first wife released in 1970.  Recorded in an era of extended ballads, this is one of the best.


 


 If you could read my mind love
What a tale my thoughts could tell
Just like an old time movie
About a ghost from a wishing well
In a castle dark or a fortress strong
With chains upon my feet
You know that ghost is me
 I will never be set free
As long as I'm a ghost you can't see
 

If I could read your mind love
What a tale your thoughts could tell
Just like a paperback novel
The kind the drugstore sells
When you reach the part where the heartaches
Come the hero would be me
Heroes often fail
 you won't read that book again
'cause the ending's just to hard to take
 

I walk away like a movie star
Who gets burned in a three way script
Enter number two, a movie queen
To play the scene of bringing all the good things out in me
But for now love lets be real
 

I never thought I could act this way
And I've got to say that I just don't get it
I don't know where we went wrong
But the feelings gone and I just can't get it back
 

If you could read my mind love
What a tale my thoughts could tell
Just like an old time movie about a ghost from a wishing well
In a castle dark or a fortress strong
With chains upon my feet
but stories always ends
if you read between the lines
You'll know that I'm just trying to understand
The feeling that you lack
 


I never thought I could feel this way
And I've got to say that I just don't get it
I don't know where we went wrong
the feeling's gone
And I just can't get it back 



Thankyou @pfunk & @luzcypher for making this such a great platform


And thank you to all the judges for all the time and effort it takes to make your weekly picks:


@verbal-d @passion-ground @krystle @soundlegion @meno


Sort:  

I've always loved this Lightfoot song. Great choice, and you've done a great job on it!

Right on thank you! Such a great song ;9

Thank you for sharing this song with us! Some of the deepest lyrics I 've ever seen!

right on thank you.. and thank you for covering my song I like the what you did with the chorus ;9)

It took so long this reply that I started thinking that you didn't like it. Now that I think again I should get the whole song down to Bb. It's better for my voice. But mostly I wanted to add more harmonic color to the chorus, perhaps add a bridge (as I did) and finish one to two steps higher...I am glad that you like it!

Cool gibber i follow you have feeling , i like you cover gogogo i waiting for you week 90 OF OPENMIC
madara.jpg

Nice rendition of this classic, Gibber!

Right on thank you @ylich for stopping by and listening ;9) Gordon Lightfoot is a really talented singer songwriter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97