Steemit Open Mic Week 105 // Stray - My Original Song (Unofficial Entry)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)


Each week I donate 25 Steem to @luzcypher for the Open Mic Contest rewards. I've also been hosting Steemit Musicians on Msp-Waves with @swelker101 for almost a year which highlights and awards Open Mic musicians with 30 Steem each week.
So, I can't actually make an official Open Mic submission anymore.
But I wanted to do this unofficial one just for fun. Plus, I haven't performed for Open Mic since around week 45, which is crazy.

This song was a request by one of my music teachers to create a piece with odd measured phrasing as opposed to even phrasing.
Common phrasing would be an even amount of measures, like 2 measure or 4 measure phrases.
So, I created this piece with 3 measure phrasing in the A section. The B section moves to standard 4 measure phrasing, then returns to the 3 measure phrasing A section.
There was also something in the exercise that involved the phrasing of the melody over the harmonic structure, but I can't remember what it was....or what I did exactly.
Perhaps my musical genius Discord son, @pechichemena can figure it out......

Stray

I gave you all that I had
There's nothing left to give you anymore
And I know that I was wrong to think that this was what you wanted
I thought you were here for me, but you stray away
Never knowing whether you will stay
I know there is more that I deserve
That's why I can't stay or believe in what you say
I feel torn apart, but I have realized
You're no good for me
You never were

Check out my music on Choon!



Vote @steemcreative for Witness!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

WOW! I'm in awe, for real. You play guitar like you're playing the piano. As for the lyrics... familiar with that feeling. Thank you for being one of the sponsors for Open Mic, and especially for sharing your music with us!

Thank you so much Katrina....that means a lot coming from you!
lol those lyrics are pretty much how I spent my entire 20's unfortunately.

What a beautiful song! Love it, this needs to be on the radio! Mischievous Mermaid (802px, 10fps).gif

Awww thanks so much, Clove!
Awesome Gif!💞

Que hermosa interpretación amiga, en verdad me gustó mucho y tremenda la ejecución de la guitarra, me encanto el tema, más que sublime...

Muchas gracias por tus amables palabras🤗

Another chilling and stunningly beautiful hit, you are a song maetro-ess @isaria

I have added you to my Official Judge's Top List for Open Mic's Week 105.
Please check out the full review here.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-105-original-blog

Thank you so much verbal-d!!!
<3

You're very very welcome, your music is so mystifying and mesmerising. I still check out your older tunes from time to time :) @Edgarstudio should mix more of your music if you have future projects lined up.

Waao muy linda interpretacion. Es de tendencia dark?, me encanta ese estilo, felicidades.

You play guitar too. A woman of many talents. Good to hear you play.

Thanks luz!!!

Extremely well done, Isaria...
Nice!

Thank you!!!
<3

You never cease to amaze me

Thank you Pris <3

Wwooouuu I loved the expressiveness and the mix of voice and guitar! Fantastic!!!!

Thank you!!!

I loved this song! Such a beautiful melody.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11