Steemit Open Mic Week 78 - ORIGINAL SONG - How I Love You

in #openmic6 years ago

i wrote this song about 15 years ago, during the Bush Jr presidency, when there was a lot of talk in California about the rights (or lack thereof) for gay people to get married. this is a song about being allowed to love who you want to love, in the way you want to love them. thanks for listening! and thanks to the whole #OpenMic crew for putting this whole thing together week after week. and thanks to all the other musicians on here who inspire me to get off my ass and record something, write something, perform something, share something... in the words of my friend @benleemusic "whatever it is, whatever it is... JUST DO IT, whatever it is..." thanks everybody!

(special thanks to my dog Mirfy for caring juuuuust enough at the beginning and then being totally over it. he gets it.)

HOW I LOVE YOU - lyrics

we should be free to feel as we please
they can't tell me how i love you
you and me we'll face down all of their negativity
triumphantly is how i love you

no harm will know you - i won't let you down
these arms will hold you - i won't let you down

our love will be out of range of their armies
nations will see how i love you

no harm will know you - i won't let you down
these arms will hold you - i won't let you down

thought that you were always so close
thought that you were stronger than most
thought that you were someone to save me

no harm will know you - i won't let you down
these arms will hold you - i wont let you down

this is how i love you

Sort:  

Congratulations @javierdunn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Completely overlooked and underappreciated, but not by I! Really nice song here @javierdunn.

I have added you to my Judge's Top list of Week 78
Please click here to read the full review

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-78-original-blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73