Steemit Open Mic Week 85: Original - Roller Mill

in #openmic6 years ago

What is happening #SteemitBloggers and #OpenMic fans?

It is time to submit a song for The Steemit Open Mic - Week 85

This song was written by my friend Jenny Roques and myself for a band scramble some years back. She wrote the lyrics, I wrote the music.

The band scramble was a cool event organized by St. Louis musicians. How was it done?

  • Take five musicians who never played together.
  • Throw them in a band.
  • Give them three weeks to come up with three original songs.
  • Play songs live and be judged

Our band won that year! We we're called Lazy Dynamite

This song is called Roller Mill

Roller Mill

written by Jenny Roques and Jason Vargas(@jgvinstl)

Oh take me down to that old roller mill
Down to that river and through the bloody hills
'Lil Oklahoma I knew that she would strait be out to kill.

That old river winding home
That old girl won't be alone
That old rivers here to stay
The roller mill in every way

Oh she had demons but she worked hard and was skilled
Oh she had her reasons and everyone knew it
Lil Oklahoma I knew that she would strait beat it to death

That old river winding home
That old girl won't be alone
That old rivers here to stay
The roller mill in every way

Oh take me down to that old roller mill
Down to that river and through the bloody hills
'Lil Oklahoma I knew that she would strait be out to kill.

Thank you for stopping by to check out my Steemit Open Mic Entry for Week 85

Thank you to @pfunk, @luzcypher, @ausitbank, @openmic, @soundlegion, @krystle, @verbal-d, @passion-ground, @meno, and anyone else I may have missed.
Most importantly, thank you to all the other musicians that keep the Open Mic steemin’ on!

Until next time, with big love from me,

20180515_120217.jpg

20180220_225853.gif
Thank you to you @zord189 for the #SteemitBloggers banner!

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

steemitbloggers.gif

Sort:  

I love your heavy acoustic sound and also your vocals. You are an awesome player and i just have to resteem this.

Sweet! Thank you for the great compliment @papaudeme.

This is awesome, i must resteem this. What a sound, i love the heaviness of the acoustic guitar too.

I appreciate the support @roonyi! Thank you for checking it out.

Love the song brother, best of luck with this weeks open mic.

Btw love the Rick and morty pictures, Stay Schwifty ✌️

Wubba-Lubba-Dub-Dub @cyrezthelooney!

Hi... my name is Jesus!!!
I would like to ask your help... Would you give me a like to my post?
is my first time in Open mic!! :D Thaanks

https://steemit.com/openmic/@ragnarflok/steemit-open-mic-semana-85-too-close-for-comfort-por-ragnarflok

I'll never be able to repeat the harmonica solo I just invented for this, but when you check the akashic record you will get a smile ;)

Sweet! You are a rock star @operahoser!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87