Steemit Open Mic Week 92: "Cath..." (Death Cab for Cutie Cover) by @k0wsk1

in #openmic6 years ago


After plenty of technical difficulties surrounding my usual video techniques, I'm back with a new Open Mic video for you all! Don't let the thumbnail fool you - this is another multitracked cover. The reason it doesn't look like a multitracked cover is that my phone screen has almost entirely given up on existence, and is rendering me unable to open my phone. Therefore I can take pictures and record videos, but nothing else (I can use Siri to call people still, thank god). It is now more of a bitch to retrieve and use these videos, so I took some shortcuts and just used iMovie to add my audio to a video of me taking my full vocal track. All the sounds you hear (guitar, bass, + drums) are being played by me :) I hope you enjoy this cover of "Cath..." by Death Cab for Cutie:

It's been a bumpy road in terms of technology lately. My phone is almost RIP, I had to update and troubleshoot on my Mac Mini for hours, my guitar amp is sounding fuzzy (probably needs new tubes), my other old video camera won't keep a charge... First world problems, amirite?


my broken ass phone

Anyways, here's the original track for all that are interested (Death Cab is great, if you don't know them already. They're from my hometown of Bellingham, WA!):

Lyrics:

Cath, she stands with a well-intentioned man
But she can't relax with his hands on the small of her back
And as the flash bulbs burst
She holds a smile like someone would hold a crying child

And soon everybody will ask what became of you
And your heart was dying fast, and you didn't know what to do

Cath, it seems that you live in someone else's dream
In a hand-me-down wedding dress
Where the things that could have been are oppressed

You said your vows, and you closed the door
On so many men who would have loved you more

And soon everybody will ask what became of you
And your heart was dying fast, and you didn't know what to do
The whispers that it won't last roll up and down the pews
But if their hearts were dying that fast,
They'd have done the same as you
And I'd have done the same as you.

Gear used in this video:

Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 Audio Interface
Micheal Kelly Electric Guitar
Fender Hot Rod Mk II Tube Amp
Sterling Sub Series Modded P Bass
Yamaha Jazz Kit
Blue Spark Condenser Microphone

As always, a big shout out to @pfunk, @luzcypher, @soundlegion, @krystle, @verbal-d, @passion-ground, and @meno for making this whole thing happen every week. I don't even understand how you guys do it.

Thanks for watching/listening, and best of luck to all contestants of the Steemit Open Mic! <3

By the way, did you hear there's a minnow uprising happening? For more info: https://steemit.com/steem/@taskmaster4450/july-1-minnow-uprising-kicks-off


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Once again, I'm pleasantly surprised by the amount of talent and skill you have and that being a one-man-orchestra ( are you familiar with that Pixar short? )

Keep it up my friend and I'm sure there will come a time that you can buy new equipment with ease ( with your crypto )

P.S. Cool to learn that Death Cab for Cutie is from your home town

Thanks so much @vincentnijman, and I really hope you're correct in that prediction :D Yeah, they're a great band. My uncle used to jam with the frontman of DCFC in college.

That's awesome!

P.S. Be careful with that ceiling. It seems like it could come crashing down on you any moment ;>)

Lol, it really does... It would be an expensive room to have the ceiling fall on, that's for sure :P

because of your life insurance? ;>)

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Thanks for hosting this crazy thing! Proud of you and your colleagues for this weekly music fest

Super Nice, Kow! - despite all the first world probs... :-)

Thanks b :)

@k0wsk1 Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59