Open Mic Week 63: ORIGINAL SONG "Only Ever You"

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

This is a song about love, and about letting go when you need to--as that's sometimes what real love demands. This song is an original, and a favourite among fans.

I spent some time away from Steemit focusing on getting an album finished, and desperately needed a new laptop.. so I was out of the groove for a while, and therefore also the Open Mic weeks.. but happyhappyhappy to be back in gear now.

Excited to be back!

Lyrics below. And I so appreciate your support :).

Only Ever You

We spoke like lovers with the years long gone
Every word between was like the flicker of a song
Oh, I loved you then and oh, I love you now

Only just a moment did you take to win my trust
But I cut myself away like the way I knew I must
Oh, I loved you then and oh, I love you now
Oh, I loved you then and oh, I love you now

This heart was tried and true
With only ever you
The memory black and blue
But sweet because of you
I know still what I knew
That only ever you
Would ever only be
Only ever you

I know that love is often letting go
But how do you release the blood from in your bones?
Oh, I loved you then and oh, I love you now
Oh, I loved you then and oh, I love you now

{Chorus}
So this is how it feels
To love without reserve
This is how it feels
To love

{Chorus}

Oh, I loved you then and oh, I love you now
Oh, I loved you then and oh, I love you now
Oh, I loved you then and oh, I love you now

Xx!
Kay

P.S. Here's the link to my album I mentioned.

Follow @kayclarity if you enjoy posts about beauty, art, culture, life, Steemit, and, of course, my original music and poems.

Here is me playing another song I love!

Sort:  

very familiar voice, nice song.

Thank you so much! Very kind of you to say :). Do you sing?

Yes I do! I've been doing a series of digital busking, i'm just starting it but I like the idea. I can busk and make some money without having to go out into the cold! Also the openmic weekly is a great opportunity for exposure. Looking forward to see what you play in the future!

I'll also have to check out yours! Have to get to bed just now, but will try to remember in the morning :).

Btw, where else do you "digitally busk" besides Steemit? :)

Steemit is pretty much the only place I have found as an outlet for digital busking, I do have a soundcloud called DeathByTetris but its mainly my experiments in music production and i'm yet to have a pound thrown in my case from it haha

We should start getting "digitalbusking" to be a common tag.. some cross-pollination could help us all :)

I think I already have.

Other people are using it?

That's exactly what I talked about here a few months back: https://steemit.com/music/@kayclarity/why-steemit-is-basically-the-busking-of-the-internet-top-10-list

It's pretty fun on here, hey?? Big smile to you! Have a good weekend! Xx, Kay

I almost missed this one, Another beauty!!

Thanks - really glad you like it, friend!

Hermosa letra, hermosa canción, me sentí identificada.
Saludos desde Venezuela.

Gracias! I know there is a lot of sadness going on your country right now. Praying for you all <3

cool song ,,,, definitely again fall in love ya

:). Really glad you liked it!

Congratulations @kayclarity, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2406 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2853.07. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

love it! really nice. beautiful music. :D Girlpower! Peace love & light`s!

Thank you so much! I appreciate you taking time to comment :)

Niiice! beautiful song!! I really like your voice! :)

Thank you for your kind compliment - I really appreciate it :). Hope you have a lovely day! xx, Kay

nice sound @kayclarity just what i need to relax

Awesome to hear! :). So glad you enjoyed it! xx

This reminded me of my ex husband, I had to let him go for both of us to grow. Made me cry, beautiful.

Real nice, Kay... Really, nice!...

Thank you, sir!! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95