Steemit Open Mic Week 51 - My One and Only LovesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago

This is one of my favorite ballads. According to Wikipedia, it was written by Guy Wood and published in 1952. It became a jazz standard and was recorded by many of my tenor saxophone heroes like John Coltrane, Michael Brecker and Joshua Redman. I'm playing along to a rhythm section track provided by LearnJazzStandards.com. Hope you enjoy it!

Click to read more about joining Steemit Open Mic.

Sort:  

Thank you for checking it out!

wow brother, you are the first saxophonist I came across. I am so please to meet a talent like you.

Thank you, that's nice of you to say. It's lonely as a saxophonist in this contest of so many singer/songwriters :)

I am not a singer myself too...that makes the two of us...

Oh man, this is beautiful. I need to learn the sax one day. :) Inspirational.

very nice and relaxing

Thanks for listening. Glad you liked it.

Nice tone man. Enjoyed listening. I have a soprano that I inherited, but am really more a guitar man. I would love to have a tenor though. I studied clarinet for 3 years, mostly because it got me in the school band and I didn't want to play violin (I had perfect pitch), not a good look in a tough boys school. So I blow the sax occasionally when no ones listening lol. You make me want to swap the soprano for a tenor though:)

Soprano's cool too. I looked at your blog and saw you were in Cologne recently. Did you check out Papa Joe's jazz club? It's a great atmosphere there.

No, didn't know about it, what a shame, was a long day so we just had one quiet night, but would have loved to have gone.

Smooth, cool, and enchanting - what a great performance, man!

Thank you, I appreciate that!

Classic one. Wish I had learned sax.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

It's never too late to learn :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68