🎶 Open Mic Week 113 - My Top 5 Judges Selection 🎶

in #openmic5 years ago

Well we have had another amazing week of entries people, the music you all share is sometimes more than I can take - resulting in me stewing on place's for a few days, well this week was no different.

Brilliant entries and my poor self juggling people round, trying to find something to fault to make the job a little easier - but you are all too damned good, so it all just comes down to perspective.

Just because an entry doesn't make a top 5 or even an Honorable mention or shortlist note, doesn't mean it wasn't amazing - fact is there are a lot of you and only so many things the judges can mention, before we just include you all.

I do my judging over a few days, in an attempt to assure myself it isn't just a mood im in - as to why a specific song is resonating with me, over a technically brilliant one.

But even with all the effort we take sometimes, there are just too many talented people in a week - so know we love all our entrants and appreciate, all the time and effort it goes into make an entry for Open Mic.

I may struggle (every damned week it seems), but we do have so really tremendous performances for you this week.


I also wanted to mention we are heading into the holiday season, so @meno and myself are getting together with some other amazing steemians to host a Christmas Concert on Christmas eve.

Were still working out all the details for the show, like time etc but we will keep you updated - I will say so far we have a few amazing hosts keen to participate, such as the brilliant @isaria, @swelker101 and the lovely @crimsonclad! ... Oh and of course @meno and myself.

We want to encourage our entrants to help get everyone into the season, you can do this by choosing to perform a Christmas carol for an entry in Open Mic - or you can plan to join in the concert, we will be listening to great music, having a few drinking and some fun in general (there may have been talk of some freebies too... but shhh!)

So if you want to join in the fun in the lead up to Christmas, just upload a festive entry or Christmas carol - also help spread the word to other entrants and let's get things kicked off bang!

That's all the info we have so far, so keep your eyes peeled for more info soon - and without further delays, here is this weeks judges top 5 selection.

This week's top 5:

1st Place - @justinzidi- let's hurt tonight

Oh my god this was stunning, I am a little taken back by how freakin amazing this entry was - I am listening to it again and again, but I just can't fault it.

This was just breathtaking, such a powerful performance I just couldn't get enough of it - it's impossible not to feel the song and get into it, before the first chorus I'm singing along with you.

Your playing was spot on and really great accompaniment for your stunning vocals, which for me really stole the show - and was what really caught my attention in the first place, from that first line I could hear the quality to the tone of your vocals.

I'm thrilled I trusted my instincts and stuck with it, cause man did you deliver - what a kick ass performance, not just technically perfect but entertaining to watch as well.

You made it look so easy, but some of the vocal gymnastics you did really stuck out to me - these aren't easy under most circumstances, but you absolutely slayed it with this performance.

I really enjoyed this entry so much, I had no option but to put it in first place - I really hope to see you back with us next week, truly great performance and entry.


2nd Place - @camuel - Blackbird

Ohh wow, this was just epic man - I was hooked from the instant you started, you absolutely nailed that entry and performance.

I was just instantly mesmerised by the stunning presentation of this classic song, firstly I should say - brilliant song choice, it is not only an amazing song... but it is perfectly suited to your vocals and you performed it sublimely.

The playing was spot on precise, it encapsulated the feeling perfectly - but it was the amazing playing, combined with the faultless vocals that had me sold.

Your vocals were everything this song needed and more, this is a song where you need to hold volume back - but not emotion and feeling (this is a lot easier said than done), you did this with stunning focus and ability.

It was an absolute pleasure to hear your entry this week, you have some amazing skills no question about it - but this performance just nailed every aspect needed, to make this entry undeniably brilliant.

Fantastic entry and I cannot wait to hear more from you soon!


3rd Place - @k0wsk1 - Traffic In The Sky

Each week you just keep getting better and better, it's making my job so hard - but seriously what a stunning entry for us this week.

You have a seemingly endless pit of talent, you play multiple instruments with such epic skill - it really is quiet an accomplishment, that alone... But then you sing!

You have a really amazing voice, such a clear and soothing tone - there is a gentleness to your vocals and that combined with your song choices, well it's just bloody brilliant man.

I couldn't get enough this week, so you crept back into my top 5 - but with entries like that can anyone really blame me... Anyways love your work and hope you keep sharing your gifts with us.


4th Place - @drewley - River of Hope

Wow Drew this was just brilliant, what a captivating composition you have created here - such depth and emotion flowing through the notes is just perfection.

The title is absolutely perfect for this piece, you can almost hear the flow of the river - and there is struggle and turmoil. but a resounding feeling of hope weaved throughout.

Your are such an amazing composer, I love your music so much - it is so full and complex, yet fluid and transcendent.

You have so much skill and I am thrilled you continue to share it with us, week after week - as always I truly hope to ehar more and soon!


5th Place - @exzorltg - Azul

What a simply beautiful performance, I just adored the combination of vocals with the subtle - gentle playing as accompaniment.

Not to mention wow on the super low range this song is performed in, I loved the tone of both your voices - not to mention the higher notes mixed in later on were just a stunning contrast.

But I cannot get over how super low those notes were initially, just wow - what a great and unique sound to present to us so beautifully, hope to hear more soon.


Honourable Mentions:

@tarotbyfergus - My Bad


Master Shortlist:

@manuelmusic, @shookriya, @montanacellist, @eugelys, @mayneth, @maycorjerjes18, @donlucho, @ceheiberg, @guifaquetti, @dearw, @adolforivas42, @sanami, @jesuslnrs, @dominiqueguitars, @wilins, @acousticsteveo, @esthersanchez, @dreamrafa, @edwardstobia, @orlandogonzalez, @jhoxiris, @edmundocentenor, @marianvitz, @siomarasalmeron.


See I never lie, each week we have more and more talented people coming out of the woodwork - and I am thrilled to hear each and every single one of them.

You guys kick some serious ass and this week was no exception, I hope to see you all back with us next week - with maybe a little extra Christmas Cheer, to get us into the spirit of things!


Songwriters Shoptalk:

Everyone involved in Open Mic or a fan of some of our amazingly talented entrants, should know about the Songwriters Shoptalk - it's a radio show that @meno and I co-host on a weekly basis.

During our two hour show we interview amazing musicians on Steemit, we play some of their original music and get involved in all manner of conversations - I'm not kidding here people, some of the topics are so far from the realm of music I often wonder how we got there.

It's an amazing show and I am thrilled to be a part of it, we have an amazing time each and every week - not to mention we share some amazing music and get to know some of the faces behind the tunes.

Join us 2am UTC Thursdays, it would be great to have you all along for the ride with us - get to know your fellow musicians and as always hear some kick arse music!


Steemit Musicians:

I'd also like to remind everyone again that all top five nominations from this week, will feature in the Steemit Musicians live radio show on MSP-Waves every week - hosted on the Peace Abundance and Liberty discord server, through the Minnow Support Project.

A massive congratulations to all of those to be featured in the show, it is going to be great opportunity to get to further share the awesome entries we receive each week - I can't wait to hear the audience's feedback on all our judges selections and your entries.

I hope you can all drop by and support those who made this week's lists, I'm sure they'd appreciate the support - not to mention if you join you get to help choose the weekly 30 SBD winning entry!


Please join us for Steemit Musicians this Sunday 12-1 UTC!

Time Zone Converter

You can listen live at the mspwaves website- http://mspwaves.com/home/listen
You can listen on twitch-

You can join broadcast hosts in a special chat room on the MSP Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/kNxM7T6
You can check out http://mspwaves.com/ for more information


MSP waves logo.gif


Open Mic's New Discord Server:

I'd like to officially welcome you all to the new Open Mic Discord server, we have been open a little while now - with many of you having already joined.

But it's still a little quiet and I blame myself partly (I didn't know the world of crazy would set in just after opening it up and I just haven't been there to engage with everyone properly or promptly), I hope to remedy this in the coming weeks and months with some big plans we have in the works.

For now it's very hush hush, as plans are finalised and things evolve - you a can be sure you guys will hear all about it.

In the meantime however, there are heaps of amazing musicians already on there - it's a tool and you guys need to use it to get full advantage.

Ask a question, request a collaboration the world is yours - hell even just go in there and play around listening to some tunes in the jukebox room!

I will be trying to make myself more available on the server as time continues, so feel free to drop by even just for a chat.


Again a big thanks to @soundlegion, @meno, @verbal-d and @passion-ground for all they do as judges, please remember to go and check out their top five selections each week and to @luzcypher and @pfunk thank you so much for making all of this possible - until next week.

Which was your favourite entry this week?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines
Please consider voting @ausbitbank for witness here

Sort:  

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. This is the first time I've got beyond the honorable mentions slot so I'm super pleased. It really means the world to me.

Congratulations to all contestants... I'm rooting for @camuel this week :) I was happy to see him up there :)

Thanks Pris! That's really kind of you. xx

I don't know what to say @krystle.. I'm tearing up now... This is amazing!! . thank you for your kind words and this gift, it has made my year... Thank you for your appreciation...

Thank you for mentioning us! We are very proud.

Really great performances this week. Had to put some of these on my IPod.

Click here to see who won Steemit Open Mic week 113

Luzcypher's Announcement For Steem Witness

Thank you for the mention @krystle!. And well!, we will keep working to improve ourselves every week. Once again, thanks for the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64