🎶 Open Mic Week 83 - My Top 5 Judges Selection 🎶

in #openmic6 years ago

Here we go for another amazing week of musicians, some of you may have noticed I was absent from judging last week - my apologies to all we had a family emergency, but now things are returning back to normal so I'm back!

I also want to mention we have set live the new Open Mic discord server, I wrote a post letting people know what it's all about - since I did the post we have had a steady stream of musicians and Open Mic entrants dropping in.

Remember this is your place, if you want to create an amazing music community hang out you can - it just takes people showing up and jumping on in, there are so many possibilities in there and I cannot wait to see you all when you arrive!

Now week 83 people, that shite is insane to me - I cannot believe with each week that passes just how long this little beauty has been going, a massive shout out to the phenomenal @luzcypher thanks for the continued hard work without out you none of us would be here now!

As this contest grows and evolves the job of a judge gets a little more difficult, there are more entrants yes - but its the calibre of their abilities that is truly breathtaking, seriously the talent pool here is unlike anything I have ever experienced before and it keeps on growing.

To give you a small glimpse into my judging process, I included a screen shot of my computer - just to give you an idea of what I consider to be outstanding talent, these are the entries on my shortlist after a harsh cull.

I cannot stress enough, how many of you are seriously worthy of placing and as this grows - it becomes a battlefield with your mind to choose the very best ones, that you think shone brightest that week.

Its a tough call and often comes down to personal taste and preferences, which is why we have such a varied group of judges from all over the world - with their own individual takes on music and what makes them feel an entry is next level, it's a hard thing to quantify but we do our best and I think we do alright all things considered!

But with all that aside I will again say, what a brilliant week of entries it was again - you make the job so enjoyable, it really is an honour and privilege to be here with you each and every week!

So without further delays, here is my top 5 selection from this weeks Open Mic.

This week's top 5:

1st Place - @andreabortone - STAYING ALIVE

What an absolutely brilliant performance from all of you, seriously I just couldn't stop my head bopping along as you guys smashed it out!

You all did such a sublime job it was thoroughly enjoyable to watch and hear, you made the music fill the sound so completely there was never a dull moment - the combination of instruments was utter perfection and bought everything together with sublime precision.

Now as vocalist myself I am drawn to music that make me want to sing along, you guys had me wishing my voice was back so I could join in properly while I listened - the harmonies were spot on and really added more depth and colour to the song.

I hadn't heard this song in the longest time and you so did it justice in every way imaginable, the vocals really were a highlight for me - your lead vocals are just divine you have amazing control and range, creating such an amazing listening experience.

I also have to mention the slightly altered long held "alive" really just blew me away, when we deal with old classics like this it can be hard to make them your - but with your unique and interesting vocal embellishments threaded throughout, really made this stand out for me on every level.

Honestly I dare anyone to listen and not get into the grove you guys are laying down, it's impossible not to move to this music - so perfect song choice and absolutely brilliant performance to bring it all home.

I just can't get over that vocal though, you seriously have an amazing instrument there - I have high hopes to hear more stunning performances showing of your incredible skills.

I loved watching your family performing together, it just felt so natural and relaxed - like music is second nature for your entire family, just an absolute pleasure.

I really cannot wait to hear more from you, I have a feeling you not only have an incredible control over your vocals and range - but I get a sense of the power behind them in this song and I so hope to see you really belt out a tune in the future!


2nd Place - @lillywilton - Zombie

Firstly you certainly know how make an impact, first post on steemit and first entry into Open Mic - and in all honesty there was no way I could continue without having you in my top selection, this was just to brilliant to pass up!

I have to say you have a stunning voice and you know how to use it to great effect, using the looper with only vocals to create such an amazing and full sound - it was really breathtaking and deserves so much more attention.

It can be hard to get noticed at first on steemit, but I have a feeling you will find your grove here soon enough - and from your comment section you have caught the eyes and ears of some of our other brilliant Open Mic entrants, always a big nod of respect when the entrants find you and praise you too!

When I heard your entry I was simply blown away, I love this song and have heard many covers of it now - this one just took it to a whole different level, you made it your own creating your own sound and influence with it.

You have sublime vocal range and your control is the epitome of perfection, so as I do from time to time when I am blown away by the brilliance of an entry - I shared it with my partner and witness @ausbitbank, I figured he would like it and I was right he to thought it was bloody brilliant!

Then he asked when the post paid out and I scrolled down and saw you only had made $2 ish on the post, he and I both felt pretty shit given the outstanding quality of the entry - so he decided he'd show you a little extra love, in my opinion much deserved love.

I can't even remember how many times I have listened to this entry, but each time it continues to just blow me away - I really hope to see you continue to post and share your amazing talents with us here at Open Mic, were a family and would love to have you with us again!


3rd Place - @yidneth - Flame

Every time I hear your music it just takes me on magical journeys I never want to end, you have impeccable talents lovely - your playing is divine and your vocals are perfection, so what more can I ask for?

Seriously it never ceases to amaze me, with the extreme talent we have showing up here at Open Mic these days - you may have only entered twice, but you took our breaths away and left us wanting more!

I love your sweet gentle vocals so filled with emotion, you make it all look so easy too - just a divine performance and entry, I love it so much and no matter how many times I hear it I never get over it.

It is spectacular how you manage to make it feel so magical and ethereal, there is something otherworldly about your music - so unique and stunningly yours, I can't get enough of it!

I really hope you keep blessing us with your amazing vocals and brilliant performances, yours is a voice I could listen to on repeat for weeks and never grow tired - keep it up lovely and I cannot wait to hear more of your majestic arts.


4th Place - @silentscreamer - May it be

You chose one hell of a song this week and you totally did it justice lovely, what an amazing rendition of this complex and textured song - your vocals were just spot on and captured the intensity desired perfectly.

When you bring in the violin I just fell for this performance, the combination of singing stunningly and playing a violin beautifully just blew me away.

This was a truly beautiful entry and I enjoyed every second of it, your playing was just divine - not a single fault throughout with this highly complex performance.

You really just had me hooked from the instance I heard it, I found that to be the case with a few songs this week - but yours just had to be included, I love the variety you are bringing to Open Mic.

You have been capturing my attention of late (I know it's a pain as I'm a space cadet), but when music comes from someone in such a pure and captivating way - it's impossible not to be drawn to it, like I have been with yours.

Just an amazing entry and performance, you really just captured the feel with stunning perfection and took me on a journey with you - this was brilliant and I cannot wait to hear more soon!


5th Place - @kayclarity - Is This What We Want?

Hell yeah Kay this is what I want, that being your music not the topic you are covering within it - what a powerful and grossly under-discussed issue, you capture it perfectly with absolute clarity!

I love lyrics and songs that tell a story or discuss deeper issues, you have captured the calamity of our age with beautiful clear convictions - I only wish more people hear this song, for the theme it covers alone.

Now add to that your sublime vocals and brilliant playing and here you have yourself a winner, I couldn't pass by this entry - all of it's elements combine to make this just amazing and such a deeply necessary topic for the masses.

You have next level vocal control and range, which for me makes it a pleasure to hear pretty much anything you play - but when you hit the hard topics as well, your music becomes transcendent.

I remember the first time I heard you on Open Mic and since that moment I have been a fan of you and your music, my love for your music has only grown with time and I still can't get enough - we are so fortunate to have you with us and as always I can't wait to hear more!


Honourable Mentions:

@abelfernandez - the scientist

I absolutely adore this song and your rendition is just sublime, you have brilliant vocal control and range - just amazing mate, I can't wait to hear more from you soon!

@samidbarid - A gentle walk

I am fast becoming a massive fan of your amazing compositions, they are so stunning, varied, complex and convey such depth and emotion - you have a real gift, I look forward to hearing more soon!

@breakoutthecrazy - Pause Rewind

Wow guys you just keep hitting it out of the park with every damned entry, I am so thrilled you two found us and felt inclined to share your brilliant music - you have such a variety of styles and sounds, but they are all intrinsically your's.

Just stunning as always, I love hearing relatively new entrants that just step up the game - when I first heard your music I thought to myself "we have some new players here", I always look forward to hearing what you have for us next time round.

@joseacabrerav - Arañando el aire

I love watching a musician that loves what they are doing, you manage to capture the moment and feel of music - best of all you project that emotion and feeling onto the listener, it's always a pleasure to hear your brilliant playing and smooth controlled vocals just amazing!

@paintingangels - Carnival Lights Down

Ahhh dear Serena you've voice is just so emotive, I can't get enough of your deep soulful lyrics and the way you present them in your music - your music tells stories I love hearing and I'm curious what else you can wow us with!

@darrenclaxton - Waiting On A Raincloud

Darren what an amazing song mate, just stunning playing and singing - Zippy just wow lovely adding in those harmonies really added some extra depth, just adding to the beauty of the song.

@danielsandoval - PERDONAME

Wow mate the moment I heard this I knew I needed to at least mention how amazing your vocals are, you have stunning vocal control and range - just a brilliant display of skill, can't wait to hear more!

@itslobianco - AVICII PIANO MEDLEY

What a brilliant medley, we haven't had to many of these but I have to say yours was really well arranged and performed - a true way to honour the memory of Avicii, you played it perfectly and I can't wait to hear more from you soon!

@steembirds - SMTS (a Shitcoin Machine)

Wow @jaybird and @dan-atstarlite I cannot stress how refreshing your entries are, the energy and passion you give in performances really takes things to another level - I just can't get enough not to mention your songs are always relevant and on point, you guys just kick ass and I can't get enough. Always looking forward to hearing more from ya's.

@moccamonica - Lullaby of birdland

Well this was just too awesome to pass up, you guys sure know how to put on a show - I just love the combination of strings and the vocals as always just stunning, looking forward to see what else you guys have for us in the future!

@drewsmusic - Down The Road

Mate your vocals make me swoon, you just have such a smooth voice - just love this composition and performance, curious and eager to hear more from you soon!


What an amazing group of performers and entries from this week, I wish I had more time and space to write you all reviews - if I didn't need sleep I'd be on it for sure, because you guys are just so deserving of it with your amazing efforts.

I had an absolute blast listening to all the wonderful music and hope to see you all back again next week, it's just so enjoyable to hear brilliant music from all over the world and I get to call that a job lol.

Don't forget to check out the new Open Mic discord server, it will become an amazing resource and asset to all that jump in and see what's on offer - I try to be there so feel free to say hi sometime!

With that I might call it a night, as I am the last judge to have their post out again - I should stop blabbing and get moving, until next week keep the tunes going.


I'd also like to remind everyone again that all top five nominations from this week, will feature in the Steemit Musicians live radio show on MSP-Waves next week.

A massive congratulations to all of those to be featured in the show, it is going to be great opportunity to get to further share the awesome entries we receive each week - I can't wait to hear the audience's feedback on our selections and your entries.

I hope you can all drop by and support those who made this week's lists, I'm sure they'd appreciate the support - not to mention if you join you get to help choose the weekly 20 SBD winning entry!


Please join us for Steemit Musicians this Sunday 12-1 UTC!

Time Zone Converter

You can listen live at the mspwaves website- http://mspwaves.com/home/listen
You can listen on twitch-

You can join broadcast hosts in a special chat room on the MSP Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/kNxM7T6
You can check out http://mspwaves.com/ for more information


MSP waves logo.gif

On the note of the community I thought I'd take a moment to mention that, over at the minnow support program on our discord chat room Peace Abundance and Liberty - the recently revitalised music room has been getting rather active lately.

As well as the recent burst of activity, we have also added a jukebox to the room - so now when you're chatting with people in the music room, you can choose and play music from youtube (this includes open mic entries, I may have already played a couple I really enjoyed).

So far I have seen a few open mic regulars hanging out and about on the PAL chat rooms, now we have a place where we can actively share music live with people were chatting with - this can help musicians in so many ways, not to mention it's just fun to hang out and chat over and about good tunes.

In addition to the new music room Peace Abundance and Liberty chat rooms have a lot to offer, you can access bots to vote on your posts, you can also meet and interact with over 5000 steemians in the channel - this can be a very useful resource to new steemians, but is also a fantastic place to meet and interact with like minded individuals on many different topics.

Again a big thanks to @soundlegion, @meno, @verbal-d and @passion-ground for all they do as judges, please remember to go and check out their top five selections each week and to @luzcypher and @pfunk thank you so much for making all of this possible - until next week.

Which was your favourite entry this week?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines
Please consider voting @ausbitbank for witness here

Sort:  

I may or may not have ugly-cried seeing this post. Thank you, thank you, thank you for those amazingly kind words <3 I am overwhelmed and humbled. Many thanks and all the love to you and @ausbitbank <3 it means a lot

No words! We are thankstfull in all senses. Being here with this group of talented people is such an honor, and read your words is just wonderfull. THANKS A LOT. It means so much to me! i'll keep on singing and enjoying music, always giving the best of me. Greetings to you!!!

MANY THANKS KRYSTLE! I AM VERY GRATEFUL TO HAVE BEEN PART OF YOUR HONORABLE MENTIONS!

Thank you so much for the selection. An more even for the lovely feedback and words that infuses me with confidence. I do always struggle to feel it sounds enough as solo. Guess I miss to be wrapped by a band, but these humbler heartfelt performances are also teaching
me something new. Once more thank you. I am so happy that I will use my fav emoji 🐀💚🎵

Just saw this! Thank you so much, dear @krystle! Your words always mean so much. I'm so glad to have connected with you here.

Fantastic list my friend, this was truly a heavy one to judge. So many amazing artists here and you highlighted some great talents as always

What can i say. Its easier when i only see a number to my name. Then its easier writing a comment. When someone leaves such a beautiful review its really hard to find words to thank the judge that wrote it. :D
But thank you. Seeing that really makes everything worth it, even more so.

No worries at all lovely, it was a sublime entry and no easy feat - you impressed and entertained, I couldn't ask for more. Just so well deserved! <3

Thank you for mentioning us Krystle! Congrats to all the other artists on here! SO MUCH TALENT!

No worries, just wanted to say so sorry for not replying to your comment the other week - it really warmed my heart (I also did a little victory dance at getting the interpretation right :P ), you guys are truly amazing talents taking this contest by storm!

I don't always get to respond on here, but I wanted to make an extra effort this week as I have missed a few amazing comments that really deserved a proper response - but thank you for dropping by today and you are so right there is just so much talent here (yourselves included!) <3

Thanks for all your help picking the top 5 this week.

Click here to see who won Open Mic this week:

Steemit Open Mic Week 83 Winners See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week --- by @luzcypher

Follow me, upvote and reply to this comment if you want me to upvote and resteem your post to my 36,500+ followers. https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95