Steemit open mic week 79! Cover BILLIE HOLIDAY ♡ Don't explain - LOE

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)



My entry for open mic! Cover of Billie Holiday. Wanted to bring this one for a long time.
Piano skills are a bit dusty (working on it 😃). I played a lot of 'mistakes' but eventually I think they work with the song.

Billie is one of my favorite artists. Together with Nina Simone and Ella fitzgerald.
They thought me so much about raw emotion and learned me deal with perfect imperfection.

Here the lyrics of the song:

Hush now, don't explain
Just say you'll remain
I'm glad you're back, don't explain
Quiet, don't explain
What is there to gain
Skip that lipstick
Don't explain
You know that I love you
And what love endures
All my thoughts of you
For I'm so completely yours
Cry to hear folks chatter
And I know you cheat
Right or wrong, don't matter
When you're with me, sweet
Hush now, don't explain
You're my joy and pain
My life's yours, love
Don't explain

Good luck everybody! 🌻 🌻

Love LOE ♡


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Once again I am Amazed by your voice and actually good taste in music.

Sending you ONE BIG LOVE:

Right back at you! ♡

great song... sounded awesome, I dig your taste in music, looking forward to more

Gracias Gibber, more will follow ^^ Have a great day!

I noticed your sound was "off" a little, here is my wk 80 entry "before I trimmed it on you tube" the claps in the beginning get cut out but they help me sync the video with the audio.. I hope this helps....

Yeah that's a nice trick to synchronise the sound with the video. Thanks a lot Gibber! Movie maker isn't very proffesional, not much tools to synchronise but your tip will defenitly help! Thank you a lot. Love your voice by the way. No overdoing, naturall and touching. Exacly my style! Thank you for this <3

If I need to trim the beginning I do it on the youtube edit feature.. good luck!

Well done! Awesome interpretation LOE!

Thank you so much Ed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62302.26
ETH 2994.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96